On The Year of No Haircuts

This past weekend, as well as celebrating my 29th birthday, I also celebrated the milestone of not cutting my hair. No trims, no split-end details, nada. The last salon visit occurred on my birthday one year ago.

It was all accidental, really. I had not planned on avoiding a pair of scissors. Being poor and just seeing how it would go contributed to the feat of adding about 7 inches of length to my tresses. The current length is just past bra-strap length, or “Classic Length” with slight layers for all you Long Hair Aficionados. Notice I didn’t include photos of my hair…because…there are people out there who fantasize about long hair in unhealthy ways. Plus, my site is about covering said hair. 😉

The last time my hair was this long  was probably junior high, when I conducted a similar “lets see how long I can let it grow” experiment happened. Since then I have yo-yo’d between pixies (really short) and shoulder length. I was always told my hair was too fine/delicate for any real satisfying long hair experience.

Wrong-o!

Even though the quality of my hair has changed only a little towards the better (lot less split ends than when I received regular haircuts…hmmm), I enjoy it more as it grows. One of these days I will try to teach myself how to do a french braid or some other similar pretty-ness.

So how long will it grow?? I made it a  year….how about another?

13 Responses to “On The Year of No Haircuts”


  1. 1 Dawn June 23, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    You can do it!!! It’s too easy! It’s even easier since you wear a covering and don’t have to fuss with your hair during the day.
    Sister, my hair hasn’t seen scissors since I got it trimmed when I was in the Army in 2000! So if I can do it, so can you!
    The water here in Germany has completely destroyed my hair so I hope the water in Texas will at least make it soft again if nothing else…lol.

    Blessings,
    Dawn

    P.S. They hubby and I plan (on coming to Lawton the 2nd week of July God willing. Probably the 10th or 11th (hopefully the movers will have dropped off our first shipment of junk by then) and we will stay about 4 days.
    DH has to take care of stuff on Ft. Sill anyway!

    I am soooooooooo excited!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. 2 Natasa June 23, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    Girls, what are you doing with your hair that you don’t have split ends… I have thin and fragile hair so it is nearly shoulder length… I would like to have long hair a lot…

  3. 3 Amber June 23, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    Very long hair is out of the question in on this girl. My hair is so heavy that after a certain length – the pain and constant headaches are too much. My sister has the same problem – but her’s is worse. Her hair is thick enough to break most ponytail holders and then overstretch the other kinds. I’m not willing to keep up with trying to thin it, so the longest it’s ever got is to the bottom of my shoulder blades.

  4. 4 Dawn June 23, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    I never said that I didn’t have split ends 🙂 Of course I have them. But since I wear a covering and my hair is in a bun all day till night time, I don’t really fuss about the ends.
    When I get to the States I am going to give my hair a hot oil treatment as it is in desperate need of one and that will relax my hair and make it look healthy hopefully.

  5. 5 amberpeace June 24, 2008 at 9:24 am

    Here’s a question, Anna.
    The reason Paul wanted these women to cover was because their vanity was becoming a concern. Worship was starting to be a bit of a fashion show (sound familier to anyone?) Not everyone was covering their hair during this period – as we know from art and manuscripts. The women of Corinth were VERY cosmo and posh. So cover up that hair and keep those jewels to a minimum! Coverning became the norm during worship. It wasn’t distracting.

    Covering is now not the norm. In most churches now, it IS distracting and odd.

    If covering up was so you didn’t distract and now covering up is distracting then why distract?

  6. 6 cbrunette June 24, 2008 at 10:24 am

    Amber,

    Valid point and great question! I will think it over and write a post.

    Natasa,

    You might want to clarify with your Dr. first if you have any underlying conditions that might cause fragile/thin hair. Mine is mostly genetically that way…though it was healthy/thicker before I was 16, come to think of it. I took a round of Accutane which might have contribute to frying my hair folicles.

    Any which way, there are ways to work with what God gave you. For me, having my hair pulled back most of the day and not hair-frying (um..hair drying) with a hot-blowing instrument of torture and also not using a curling iron or curlers limits the amount of breakage. I wash 4 times a week, more or less, with regular shampoos, though I love Garnier Frutctise Long N’Strong every other wash. No Conditioners. On the no wash days, I brush out my hair with a boar bristle brush, with my head bent over, working all the way around. This makes it much easier to tame it into a bun! I use soft scruchies or “no tangle” rubber bands and u-shaped bun pins with a hair net.

    Braid it at night (I’m finding this a necessity as mine grows longer) and you won’t get horrible tangles.

    Hope this helps!

    ~Anna

  7. 7 Evonne June 24, 2008 at 11:43 am

    Happy birthday, Anna! I believe you may be exactly as old as my husband . . . he turned 29 over the weekend too. 🙂

  8. 8 alana June 24, 2008 at 11:46 am

    You inspire me! I literally cut off all but an inch or so of my hair last winter, and not feel convicted not to cut it any more. It’s at the ugly stage, perfect extra motivation to keep my scarf on while I”m getting used to THAT habit!

  9. 9 amberpeace June 24, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    Glad you think it’s a decent question, Anna! I thought I worded it pretty poorly 🙂

  10. 10 Evonne June 24, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    I think it’s an excellent question, too, Amber, and even though it’s certainly not my place to answer it, I would like to throw in a summary of how I understand Anna’s commitment to cover, mainly because I’ve never really had the chance to articulate how much I appreciate it before. 🙂

    You’re absolutely right — a woman covering her hair nowadays is more likely to attract attention to herself, and not all of that attention is positive. I think that in Anna’s case, though, that attention can be a wonderful opportunity to start a conversation about the Lord. I suspect that in some cases, that could in fact raise an issue of pride –i.e., “Well, *I* cover my hair because I’m modest and I want to please the Lord — and therefore by implication I am holier than thou.” If that becomes the case, then yes, the commitment is counterintuitive.

    Since Anna’s fully aware of the dangers of legalism, I don’t think she necessarily prescribes headcovering as a must for all women. Though headcovering ties in with the principle of modesty, it’s a bit of a step further in our day, because, as you point out, Amber, it attracts attention, whereas modesty is about keeping one’s appearance to oneself.

    I liken Anna’s headcovering to, say, for example, a Christian opting to keep kosher. Though it’s in no way necessary for salvation, and though one can live a Godly life without doing it, it’s just one of the ways a person can give the Lord a little “extra” glory. Some people wear crosses to remind themselves of their commitment to God, some do an extraordinary amount of volunteer work in His name, some people avoid all junk foods because their body is a temple, etc. If those sorts of things attract attention, so be it — so long as one does not allow that attention to become a platform for “holier-than-thou-ness”.

    One of the age-old problems with legalism, of course, is that there’s no possible way for a mere human being to achieve salvation by adhering to the rules laid out in the Old Testament. One could say, “Well, madam, the Bible also says that in order to be virtuous you must also do X, Y, and Z. Why is it that you cover your hair but you don’t do X, Y, and Z?” The fact is that nobody can do all of those things –and that’s why our salvation is in Christ alone.

    I don’t cover my hair. Having been subjected to a good deal of hair-related snobbery and outright hate which I can’t attribute to anything other than racism (my hair is dark, very thick, and very curly), it’s taken me a while come to terms with loving the beautiful hair God has given me, but now I’m proud to wear it long. (Down-to-the-caboose long, if you stretch out the curls!) Plus, it never really occurred to me that headcovering is something I ought to be doing, any more than it occurs to me that keeping kosher or not working on the weekend is something I ought to be doing. Being “right” with God has a lot more to do with where your heart is.

    I do, however, believe that one’s degree of modesty is directly related to where one’s heart is, and though I don’t cover my hair, I do believe in modest, feminine dress. About 90 percent of the time I wear skirts — at or below the knee — even while trudging around in the woods and the like. I’ve literally climbed mountains in dresses and heels. I do occasionally wear jeans, but I really must say I feel at my most comfortable and most “right” with a skirt on, because I’m more careful about my demeanor and my actions, and I feel less “exposed”. I imagine Anna feels about the same way when she’s covered.

  11. 11 Amy Brigham June 24, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    How long will it grow experiments are fun! I haven’t cut or trimmed my hair since early 2005 and now have waist length hair.

    French braids are beautiful, but something I’ve never been able to master on myself. :o( If you figure out how, you will have to share!

  12. 12 Lacy June 25, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Mom has just cut my hair to mid-back length so I could get the hang of braiding it. 🙂 (It was waist length)

    Other than that I have not had a hair cut or trim in years!

    ~ Lacy

  13. 13 akhomeschoolfun June 29, 2008 at 12:22 am

    My friend convinced me to get a trim back in February, the first in 3 years. The split ends were terrible. It feels so much better now. After 2 kids, my hair is thinning but still heavy enough to give me headaches. My husband doesn’t want me to cut it so I’ve taken to pinning it up and covering every day which helps. Then I let it down at night for him. It’s mid-back but doesn’t seem to be getting any longer.


Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,629 hits

