Sandbags = Houses

Folks here in the U.S. are aware of the massive flooding in the Middle states of Iowa, Missouri, Wisconsin, Arkansas, and eventually Louisiana, I am assuming. As you can see, most towns are furiously (and futile) trying to set up sandbag walls to hold back the flood waters.

When I see a sand bag…I see a house. All of those sand bags would easily construct an extremely sturdy structure (almost totally tornado proof) with the following materials: bags, dirt/sand composite, barbed wire, some measuring instruments, electric/plumbing as needed, windows, cement or earthen plaster, and small amounts of roofing materials. Voila, a hobbit house!

What will happen to those bags, if they are not washed downstream to tangle in trees or in boat propellers? We can build umpteen houses/camps for the homeless after the flooding. Just a thought.

4 Responses to “Sandbags = Houses”


  1. 1 LisaM June 20, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Hey, that’s neat! I never ever would have thought of it on my own – glad someone did!

  2. 2 amberpeace June 20, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    As libertarian as I can be, I think we should mandate that all new houses are hobbit houses 🙂

  3. 4 laura June 26, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    hmm.. wouldn’t they mildew? I’ve never seen what the bags are made from on the outside so maybe they are mildew resistant… but if they are soaked cloth that would be my first concren b/c I’m silly like that!

    I haven’t been to this sit in a long while so I’m kinda revisiting. don’t mind me if I stalk here and there for a few days.

    my other site is:

    overthemoonbirths.com
    =)


Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,629 hits

