Slow Carb is a Slow Change

Two weeks into the Slow Carb way of eating and I am on a steep learning curve. I had a small hot cocoa and a shortbread cookie on Tuesday night for a church ladies’ social event. I ate McDonald’s on Wednesday (a coworker paid for it…) My body did NOT like that favor. By that evening I felt unusually exhausted. Blech. I am just now feeling ‘recovered’ from that experience.

Instead of royally beating myself up for eating sugar and fried starchy cr*p, I used it as a teaching experience. See, Anna, this is why you don’t want to eat those things! I am also trying to not get impatient with my body. It took me 2 years to get where I was; the flab won’t come off in 2 weeks! My goal is 2 inches, waist and hips or 15 pounds lighter, which ever happens first.

Back on the wagon again. Here is what I ate yesterday:

  • Breakfast – Oatmeal made with whole milk, butter and tablespoon of brown sugar.
  • Lunch – Two scrambled eggs in coconut oil, 1/2 cup or so of unsweetened applesauce, slice of pepperjack cheese. Also Cod Liver Oil.
  • Snack – Trail mix, two handfuls.
  • Dinner – Roman Lentil Soup (I could eat this weekly and never get tired of it!) with sour cream. Drink kombucha. I also ate 6 saltine crackers because I had a weight-lifting session after work. The little extra carbs keep me from getting shaky before bed.

On tap for today’s menu:

  • Breakfast – Oatmeal, ditto.
  • Lunch – Either eggs and cantaloupe or Roman Lentil Soup. Prep and put into crock pot:
  • Dinner – Pinto Beans with bacon. Splurge on Jiffy Mix Corn Muffins [hey, its in the cupboard and needs to be used up.] Spinach. Kombucha.

Our budget is limited this month, so we must eat lower on the food chain, so to speak. Fortunately, I have a couple meats left in the freezer. It won’t be completely beans until July. 😉

2 Responses to “Slow Carb is a Slow Change”


  1. 1 alana June 13, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Did I ever send you the link you asked for to the low carb thing I’m doing? If I did not, I apologize. Here’s the link:

    http://www.fibromyalgiatreatment.com/Research_HGdiet.htm

  2. 2 cbrunette June 13, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    Thanks for the list, Alana! It looks pretty close to what I have been experimenting with on my own. So no sweet potatoes, huh? Sigh.


Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,616 hits

