Autistic Coping Strategies – Knowing Your Limits

Amber had requested insight on being an autistic in everyday life. How do we do life? What if our autistic traits are “severe”? Sure enough, we had a clear example last night of how to set boundaries on our life choices that are in tune with our neurology.

Jeff reached home before I did and I could tell as I walked in that he had some less than thrilling news. He resigned from the internship at the bank. Then, like a good wife, I barraged him with questions, “Were your co-workers unfriendly? Were they not pleased with you? Did you feel in over your head in the technical aspects of the job??”

None of the above. Jeff realized that the demanding atmosphere of the networking room and 24/7 on-call was too much stress. He wanted a different environment, one where he could keep regular hours and a semblance of a routine. This was more valuable to him, and to me, than having a nifty internship on his resume.

The key to our autistic existence is knowing where our boundaries are. They are like buffer zones between what might be the best course of action and what would probably cause melt-downs, failures, and general unhappiness. It sounds like common sense for any one, Neurotypical or Neurodiverse. I think our autistic traits magnify our strengths to the point where we know what we would be best doing with our jobs and personal lives. This saves much fumbling around (been there, done that for the last 27+ years!).

This is NOT to say that autistics shouldn’t try new jobs/relationships because they were told/or tell themselves they can’t cross that line. For instance, “Most autistics never marry or produce unhappy marriages.” We are ecstatically breaking that stereotype. 🙂 The secret is finding ways to break the stereotypes and still maintain a level of peacefulness with our autistic tendencies. We just happen to have found out we both are on the spectrum after our marriage. This has made us happier, I think, than before.

An example for my own life is following special interests. Since I was a teenager, I have been fascinated with childbirth and thought I would become a midwife someday. As time has passed, I learned that there were certain things about midwifery that I would probably not be able to integrate into my life: sleep-deprivation, enormous amounts of responsibility, interpersonal skills at a high level, and unpredictable schedules. Instead of pursuing that path, I will most likely gain credentials in Childbirth Education and Pregnancy Coaching. I love teaching and learning! This way, I can still be involved with my interest (and with other people) but not set myself up for a possibly scary or tragic outcome.

Jeff learned from his experience at the bank that he is an excellent interviewee. The supervisor told him that he seemed like he really wanted the position. Well, duuuh, isn’t that why you interview for a job or internship? Apparently other people weren’t as enthusiastic. For an autistic, if you are serious about something, of course you will put forth the effort to get it. 😉

4 Responses to “Autistic Coping Strategies – Knowing Your Limits”


  1. 1 athenivandx June 12, 2008 at 8:57 am

    interesting post. I got here through my tag surfer function.

    I’m autistic too. It’s fascinating to read other autistics’
    writings.

    Athena

  2. 2 amberpeace June 12, 2008 at 10:02 am

    Yay! Thank you for the post and you are definitely on the money how anyone, regardless of their neuro-status, can follow this sound advice.

  3. 3 Gail June 13, 2008 at 8:44 am

    Your awareness is certainly a gift. I wish you all the best in your new career choice in the field of childbirth! If I can help you along your path in any way, please let me know. All the best, Gail

  4. 4 Evonne June 19, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    🙂

    Oh, and . . . hi, Athena! 😀


Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,629 hits

