When to Ask For Help

The “refining fire” I mentioned earlier this week has lessened thanks to the generosity of our church family. We had an unexpected bill from our auto insurance company, who had decided that we were a credit risk and put us on a six month plan instead of a monthly payment! I learned later from our elder, who is also an insurance agent for a different company, that they shouldn’t have done that to a 10-year + loyal customer. Well, I paid the bill out of fear and was left very short for the month.

What to do?? I’ve never been in this position before…having to seek help outside of my family. The whole situation tumbled out of a tearful me at a dinner gathering of our Bible study group on Thursday night. By Friday afternoon, we were approved for an amount from the church’s benevolence fund to tide us over until our next pay check! I was flabbergasted.

To top it off, our dear friend and goat-milk lady Paula, offered to barter milk for a couple head scarves! Jeff said that is what Christians do: We practice charity.

6 Responses to “When to Ask For Help”


  1. 1 Ginny June 7, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    Well, praise the Lord! Yes, that is what Christians do.
    😀

  2. 2 Alana June 7, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    Glory to God!

    On a slightly different note, my almost nine year old daughter was looking over my shoulder when I was reading your blog yesterday and was very intrigued by the Maidens for Modesty ad. So we looked at that together. She agreed those three maidens looked lovely.

  3. 3 Pearl June 8, 2008 at 10:35 am

    It is indeed what Christians do. When I was living in the States, I was landed with a $600 medical bill, which let me tell you was quite a shock for someone brought up with the British National Health Service. I was even more stunned when my church offered to pay, simply saying, ‘But you’re family!’. In the end my dad paid the bill, but I was so touched by the offer from the church, which made me feel so very, very loved. Praise God for families!

  4. 4 amberpeace June 8, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    I would describe my current situation as a “ward of the church.” I really don’t like to be on the receiving end of charity, but it has been pointed out to me that Christians can’t practice charity if there is no one to be charitable towards. It seems to be my turn to be the practice.

  5. 5 Amy Brigham June 8, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    Yes, this certainly is what Christians do. There have been many times when the aid of our brothers & sisters in Christ were a blessing beyond words to our family–sometimes through money, many times through gifts of baby items & household goods, and even more times in listening ears, advice, and hugs. I like to think of Christian charity amongst the body as a big bank being somewhere, where we can take we need to, and give give give when we can. :o)

  6. 6 cbrunette June 9, 2008 at 9:57 am

    Thank you all for the kind comments!

    This whole, being-on-the-receiving-end of charity, has been incredibly humbling. When the church treasurer came over to us after the service yesterday with envelope in hand, she said, “We are so happy to help you two out in this tough spot.”

    Instant Anna Puddle O’tears.

    We will also be receiving a grant reimbursement from Jeff’s school sometime next week that is a God-timed thing. He can use that money for gasoline between school and his internship.

    Isn’t God so merciful?

    ~Anna


Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 415,755 hits

