Hello Slow Carb!

This past week MSNBC ran an article about pre-diabetes and skinny people.  You don’t have to be fat to have the condition. This really confirmed for me the importance of changing my diet for keeps. Then on Friday night I had a real doozy of a sugar crash right before bedtime, which hardly ever happens to me that late at night. The crash scared me because of the severity and how quickly it set on. I was moaning on my bed, trying to eat trail mix as fast as I could and drinking a large glass of water. Uggh.

The next day I set out for Wal-Mart with shopping list in hand, all prepped to cook some delicious slow carb meals. For my guidelines I’m using this man’s experiment and these guidelines from Web MD. My plan hybrid includes some “real” carbs like sweet potatoes, oatmeal, and other non-white grains like millet and Quinoa. The trick is to step it down from breakfast to dinner, with the most carbs at the start of the day and less towards the end. Here is a sample menu:

  • Breakfast – Baked Sweet Potato, with butter and a small spoonful of brown sugar, and a scrambled egg.
  • Lunch – Roman Lentil Soup (from NT) with cooked Quinoa mixed in and sour cream. (OH – YUMMY!) Plus, two plums.
  • Dinner – Sliced roast beef with Lentil Pottage.

This is the beef dinner I cooked on Saturday night. As you can see, there were four meals left over. The little glass containers are just the perfect size! My kombucha SCOBY is resting in the jar behind. My drinks are pretty much just water, kombucha and green tea sweetened with stevia.

I feel completely satisfied with the slow carb dinner, no pre-bedtime munchies! I also don’t get the urge to snack earlier in the day. When we have it fresh, I will also include a glass of goat milk with breakfast or post-work out.

Speaking of working out, I’ve been rather consistent with tracking my steps and also incorporating strength training with The Firm and Yoga Booty Ballet. Exercise is so incredibly important to controlling my blood sugar! Even just a brisk 15 minute walk twice a day does wonders.

This plan is subject to change as I notice how I feel. 🙂

5 Responses to “Hello Slow Carb!”


  1. 1 jonathan June 2, 2008 at 2:51 am

    carbo diet gives us a lot of energy also.. 😉 very informative blog..

  2. 2 amberpeace June 2, 2008 at 6:40 am

    Hey, do you think that Maggie over at Frugal Abundance, her gluten-free diet she’s doing might do what you want? When I go to seminary this fall, I’m going to start eating like that. The symptoms her family experiences are similar to mine, but different disorders. Anyways, it seems to be doing great for them.
    And that’s my 8:39am ramble.

  3. 3 cbrunette June 2, 2008 at 7:13 am

    Amber~

    The gluten-free, casein-free way of eating is probably not for me. I was tested last year for gluten intolerance and came out ok. And I know one can be alright in the blood work and still be intolerant. The symptoms just don’t line up for me.

    ~Anna

  4. 4 Margi June 6, 2008 at 5:45 am

    Quinoa in soup? Good idea. I have 2 bags of the stuff and I just don’t like it as a substitute for rice or couscous but I know it’s good for me and I hate throwing out food. I will definitely try it in soup 🙂

  5. 5 cbrunette June 6, 2008 at 7:23 am

    Margi~ I cook my quinoa ahead of time, with a little butter and vegetable boullion base. The name brand is “Better than Boullion”, I think. Soaking the grain before cooking also takes away some of the sourness/bitterness.

    ~Anna


Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,517 hits

