More News on Mom

[How appropriate, I found this article today on MSNBC]

I had some unsettling news about my mother last night. She has been going through a fourth or fifth round of chemo the last two months. The Drs. ordered a CT scan to see the progress/regress of the cancer in her chest/lung. The scan revealed that there is fluid build-up around her heart and inconclusive results on the cancer.

Dad said he felt like he had been hit between the eyes. He had noticed Mom was slowing down and was more breathless than usual. Nothing out of the ordinary for somebody on chemo. So the Drs. are checking her blood markers again to see if the cancer is indeed more active or less. They also have a consult with a surgeon they had known previously to talk about what to do about the fluid.

As with the ways of Aspies, I can hardly tell how I’m feeling right now. Its like sadness and hurting all tangled up. My mind says…”Hey, you’ve been through almost 4 years of this battle…suck it up and be a support to your parents!” Then my heart says, “Just because I’ve seen BOTH of my parents nearly die in the last four years does not make this phase any easier!!”

Yeah, I’m pretty scared right now…not in a selfish way. Its that fear-of-the-unknown that gets me low.

3 Responses to “More News on Mom”


  1. 1 amberpeace May 30, 2008 at 9:48 am

    The fear of the unknown is frustrating for me. I know I shouldn’t be afraid, but the knowing doesn’t change the doing for me.

  2. 2 Paula May 31, 2008 at 9:25 am

    Praying for your family. And for you to see through the muddle to a bright future in Glory. This to shall pass.

    Would your mom be interested in drinking Kombucha?
    The reports on how it helps cancer are very encouraging. At the very least, it slows the growth down.

  3. 3 Christine June 3, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    Prayers for you and your family. I feel for you it’s a tough time. You have every right to feel scared.

    God Bless
    Christine


Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,517 hits

