The Circle of Life

I hope you all had a restful weekend, in the U.S.A. or outer reaches thereof. 😉 We had a close-to-home holiday because of fuel prices. It was the best time I had in a while.

On Saturday, we visited with Paula, our goat milk lady. She had three new kids living on her front porch! They were less than a week old; one was less than 48 hours old. The younger was “nearly half dead” when Paula found him, but he was a little fighter and seemed to want to live. Jeff and I stuck around to bottle feed the kids. Wow, was that fun! I got goat milk all over my linen blouse. Who cares? I was so very blessed to give a baby goat a meal. 🙂

Then we watched the goats graze on fresh spring grass while Paula finished the morning milking. Good grass = Good Milk. One big older mama goat (I don’t remember her name) walked around the pasture with me, stopping to give my face a good sniffing every once and a while. The guard dogs also followed us, so it appeared to be some sort of animal parade through the meadow. Wish I had my camera with me to show all you.

The gallon of milk we brought home was the best we’ve had yet. Not goaty tasting at all! So smooth, creamy, yet not heavy to the tummy. The grass and goats made a great glass of milk!

2 Responses to “The Circle of Life”


  1. 1 Dawn May 27, 2008 at 11:21 am

    How neat for you guys! How much did Paula charge you for the milk?

    Hope you are having a good week Sister!

    Hugs,
    Dawn

    P.S. Come on over to my blog and list 5 things you are thankful for today!!!

  2. 2 cbrunette May 27, 2008 at 11:55 am

    She charges $8 for a gallon if we pick it up. This might drop a little, because we will be reusing bottles now. I know it seems like a steep price. Paula is a Christian widow and takes very good care of her goats. She and the milk is worth every penny!

    ~Anna


Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,629 hits

