Modest and Cool

This was last Saturday’s outfit: brown linen blouse over a tan t-shirt, beige linen skirt, beige and gold headscarf and pink flowered flip-flops. Alana, you’ve inspired me!

5 Responses to “Modest and Cool”


  1. 1 alana May 20, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    That outfit looks so much like something I would wear!

    I went out today for the first time ever with a headscarf on covering my head and neck. I felt a bit self conscious but no one said anything and only a few people stared at the scarf. The nice thing is, it feels different to be stared at for being covered all the way rather than be stared at because I’m a woman. Ick, I had to leave a McDonalds the other day because I was the only female customer in there, (the place was practically empty) and this man sat down directly opposite me and was staring at me. Eeeeeeeeeew.

  2. 2 cbrunette May 20, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    Proud of you, Alana! I certainly know that creeped out feeling whenever I am uncovered now and out alone. People (men in particular) treat you differently to be sure. Even if I am wearing a long skirt or dress, I still think the ogoling happens.

    ~Anna

  3. 3 Dawn May 21, 2008 at 7:43 am

    That’s a great outfit on ya!

    Alana ~
    The key is not too look for people staring at you. We know they are going to stare, but the thing is to ignore those stares. 🙂
    Or if sometimes you can literally ‘feel’ a person buring a hole through you with their eyes, catch their gaze and smile. They usually look away embarrased they got caught….lol. I love doing that. 🙂

    Blessings!
    Dawn

  4. 4 Evonne May 21, 2008 at 8:26 am

    Adorable! So adorable! Though I’d nix the flip-flops. I’ve never been a fan of flip-flops. Something about them is . . . insolent. But hey . . . this is coming from the gal with the big uncovered hair. 😛

  5. 5 wilkinson4jesus May 27, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Looks good Anna!
    I like flip flops, I like bear-feet best though! 😉


Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,934 hits

