Monday Sprinkles, 5-19-08

….No Sugar sprinkles! I am coming down off sugar gently. Saturday I had two fruit-based drinks, but no dessert-y items. Yesterday I drank a diet lemonade (had no real choice in that) with lunch. We ate at Golden Corral, which is really a CAFO for humans, once you think of it. I stuck to eating recognizable foods, mostly plants and a couple of crab patties. Again, no dessert.

The biggest triumph was last night’s dinner. We ate *real* bacon and eggs with kombucha to drink. About an hour later, I was craving chocolate, really bad. I had half a bag of chocolate chips in the freezer. My mind bargained with my stomach to a compromise of a handful of chips. I poured out the handful onto a paper towel and ate only half that amount! I put back the rest with their friends in the freezer. Yay me!

For my new diet guidelines, I am using these suggestions. Of course, I am not going the lean meat/low-fat dairy route. Full-on, straight from the goat only, please!

I have some pictures to share later, of a new outfit and some artwork. 🙂

2 Responses to “Monday Sprinkles, 5-19-08”


  1. 1 Amber Lee May 19, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    Be careful with no sugar. A good nurse will tell you “all things in moderation.” A sweet tooth is the one universal preference people of all cultures are born with (milk and honey? hmm). My empty calories are usually some ice cream or some gin.
    I really suggest enjoying some honey or molassase on a daily basis. Keep some extra dark (85% or more) cocoa on hand to nibble if you’re a chocolate gal.
    Don’t just slash out “sweets.”

  2. 2 cbrunette May 19, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    Amber,

    Oh, I keep the honey container right on the table! 🙂 What I am trying to do is become conscious of how much empty sugar I eat, like soda and icky mass-produced desserts. Usually only a little bit of honey or a few bites of chocolate will do the trick. Hmmm…no dark chocolate in the freezer. I will have to remedy the situation.

    You’re right; God gave us sweet taste buds for a reason.

    ~Anna


Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,045 hits

