Narnia II – Innocence Betrayed

The title says it all – the movie version of Prince Caspian was barely child-proof. Two or three parents left The theater midway through the film due to the overly drawn out violent battle scenes. The rating was PG for “epic battle action and violence.” It should have been a PG-13 not only for the blood n’ sword swinging, but also for the surprise nookie at the end. Dare I say more… you are forewarned.

Then there is the story line factual editing. Oh my! It would have helped me to have read the book before going to see the film (heeding my own advice), I could still remember enough of it to speak out, “That’s not in the book!”

Over all, I give the movie a C- on the American grading scale. The first Narnia movie was much, much better!

3 Responses to “Narnia II – Innocence Betrayed”


  1. 1 alana May 17, 2008 at 9:18 am

    Thank you so much for the warning! Dh and I will preview it before we let the kids to see it.

  2. 2 Paula May 17, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    I saw the trailer awhile back , and we decided to wait till it comes out on DVD. Fast forward or stop if need be!
    The first one was quite good, even though they did deviate a bit.
    Paula

  3. 3 patti May 22, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    I took my 5.5 year old to see it this week–she is pretty brave, loves the first Star Wars trilogy, loves the Princess Bride, loves to see a good physical battle between good and evil.

    She liked the movie in general–the swordfights were “awesome” and really, there wasn’t a lot of blood and gore, it was very glossed over and for my personal line-in-the-sand it was just fine and I thought the PG rating was just.

    But as a first intro to the film versions of Narnia (we’re about halfway through the first book, reading together), it wasn’t much use to her. It was nowhere near as true to the book as the first film, and I was really put off by the inclusion of a love interest that had no connection to the original novel–not that it really changed much of the story, but it was DUMB, and if the whole series of novels are taken as a whole, it makes no sense within that context.

    And the whole thing that I felt was most important about the story was the way Aslan fit into it and how the characters did or did not respond to him. His whole film presence seemed very tacked on and superfluous and the impact was lost, which destroys the whole premise of the books as an allegory. Very disappointing to me, given how deftly I think the first film handled the subject.

    I feel that some day my daughter and I are going to revisit it and she’s going to have a lot of really interesting things to say about it, but I wished there had been more of the book in the film so we could have talked a bit more about it in the present.


Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,136 hits

