Pondering Things

This post is a mental sticky note. You may or may not see these subjects in future posts…unless you want to see them explained. 🙂

  1. Why is it that head covering opponents seem more trapped in their cultural context [“We don’t wear those any more, therefore, it is cultural!”] than those who are pro-headcovering?
  2. Bush compared the United States’ founding to the founding of Israel, even down to the “guiding principles”. Very appropriate. We push out/murder/fence in the natives so we can have a homeland. Because God told us to. Right.
  3. I need a vocation where I effect positive change in peoples’ lives. I am tired of being a desk jockey. And I don’t want to be a public school teacher or a nurse.
6 Responses to “Pondering Things”


  1. 1 alana May 14, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    If we went through the gospels and deleted everything that Jesus said that is not “culturally relevant” according to the ways of this world, we would have to throw out pretty much everything.

    Turn the other cheek? Not culturally relevant.

    Love your enemy? Not culturally relevant.

    etc.

  2. 2 karen May 14, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    what about being a Christian school teacher? Or working on staff at a church, school or Christian charity (or even a nonChristian charity).

  3. 3 cbrunette May 15, 2008 at 7:14 am

    Good point, Alana! 🙂

    Karen,

    I would probably teach at a Christian school if,

    1.) I had a state license, which is required by the private schools in the area, except one. That school has a waiting list of folks wanting to work there.

    2.) Even if I could interview at a school, they would probably be frightened that I would think and teach independently of the approved curriculum. And I wear a head scarf, which is w-e-i-r-d. Not Bapticostal enough for this area.

    The odd (and good) thing is I would probably fit in as a teacher better at a hippie-tree-hugging kind of school where they encourage creativity and independent thought. Now the perfect solution would be a hippie-Jesus-loving kind of school where I could be creative, independent, and talk about Jesus. That would be utterly cool.

    ~Anna

  4. 4 LisaM May 17, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    Good ponderings, I think. Helping people to think about stuff is sometimes very effective in change that we may never know about. Keep up the good example and good work. 🙂

  5. 5 Christine May 18, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    Hmm…it’s funny how people react to wearing headscarfs. I am very pale and sun allergic and wear hats and sunglasses nmost of the year. I get lots of comments, negative ones, and this is a health issue. Besides, why do people feel the need to comment?

    Christine

  6. 6 charli May 24, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    I have a couple of questions…the Lord truly has laid it on my heart to change my attire the last few months I have been purchasing dresses in small quantities… and the 1 Corinthians 11 ‘issue’ has bothered me for at least 3 years anyway as I have read it over and over again and no one I have spoken with in person be it at church or elsewhere has answered me with any sort of attitude of confidence. They all seem to want to ignore it or wash it down with many, lengthy, words…. today as a matter of fact I ordered two veils from
    http://www.headcoverings-by-devorah.com/ and even though I feel led of God to wear one…and I have been praying about it… I still feel as though I have hundreds of questions and no one to relate to. Nobody I know would be particularly understanding or supportive of my wearing one not even my Church! Since the vast majority of my immediate family does not have a daily relationship with Yeshua I fear they will think I’m being led into some kind of cult or something…they won’t understand and will surely think “I’m taking this Bible thing too seriously.” Even though I am not particularly proud of how Christianity has branched into so many denominations…I have looked to see if I could find any churches that don’t scorn such practice…but it seems the two main ones are more community denominations ie: Amish & Mennonite….Currently I attend an Assemblies of God church and God is certainly doing things in that church but the hearts of many will not yield to Him so growth is slow. It is a strange thing b/c if my family or community thought wrong of me or poorly for believing in Yeshua as my God and Savior I would not care two cents about it. I would praise Him and continue onward in prayer…however this which I feel God is leading me to do, should be easier to do, and yet is causing me such angst and confusion. God is not the author of confustion so why then are so many Christians at odds over this? Any advise PLEASE. Also if anyone would be interested in advise through an IM on AOL I would really like to have someone to ‘talk’ with or I suppose the correct term would be “type to” about it.
    AIM name: Charlig86
    Sincerley, Sister in Christ
    Thank you for any and all responses. Blessings upon you in the name of Yeshua. Amen.


Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,238 hits

