Thoughts on Monday

We had a beautiful weekend: fetching goat milk, visiting relatives, and went for a long walk in a park yesterday. There is a sun burn on my face (third time this year!) to prove it. I’ve got to remember a hat next time!

This story came to my attention this weekend. A young lady who has never cut her hair due to her Christian beliefs encounters a teacher with a long-hair hate and a pair of scissors. The result is a weird investigation.

In other news, mother’s day has come and gone. Notice I did not capitalize that. Its not that I wish the day never existed. I love my mom and sent her a card. I wished other mothers a happy day. I just do not like honoring it like a holy day during a church service. [Note: yesterday was the feast of Pentecost for the Western Christian calendar. Not a word mentioned about that significant event.]

The pastor starts off his sermon yesterday with, “Honoring mothers is an ancient practice…The Greeks started a spring celebration for the mother of the gods…” OH MY GOODNESS. Did he justify an American Holiday (and thereby, a church gathering) by citing pagan practices? Yep. I guess it was easy to be up front about it. 😉

5 Responses to “Thoughts on Monday”


  1. 1 Christine May 12, 2008 at 8:51 am

    Is not one of the ten commandments to honour thy father and thy mother? How better to honour than with God and in worship?

    I’m sure you realize Mother’s Day is not just an American holiday. Most nations and cultures have days to honour parents. In my home country, it’s called Mothering Sunday and is held in March.

  2. 2 alana May 12, 2008 at 10:01 am

    In the Orthodox Church, yesterday was the Sunday of the Myrrhbearing women (those who went to anoint Christ’s body at the tomb and found him risen from the dead). Our parish, thankfully, barely mentioned the civil holiday of mother’s day, and focused on that Gospel passage instead.

    I always feel for the women who are not mothers (especially those who wish they were!) when a big to-do is made in churches about this.

  3. 3 cbrunette May 12, 2008 at 10:18 am

    Christine,

    You do make a good point — and I feel properly set straight. The minister did follow the introduction with the point of honoring your mother as a commandment, which I try to do with all that I am.

    ~Anna

  4. 4 amberpeace May 12, 2008 at 10:34 am

    I think if we want a way to laugh at what mother’s day has become, go look on Bossy’s website. iambossy.com. It’s cute.
    At the church I attended in college, we only did a cursory nod towards the civil holiday. The church I attended now (different denom) tied it in with Pentecost.

    It’s a balance, isn’t it? Like SAINT Valentine’s Day and SAINT Patrick’s and Mardi Gras. One of my happier moment’s was when one of my doctors that I work for (muslim) commended me for celebrating those holidays as Holy Days and not as an overindulgent pagan practice. It gave me joy to know that my Muslim and Hindu coworkers reconized that I practiced my faith in a pure way and that they appreciated it.

    Was that a ramble? I think it was.

  5. 5 alana May 12, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Dear Anna, please read the book _What your Doctor May Not Tell You About Fibromyalgia_ and check out the website http://www.fibromyalgiatreatment.com

    Four years ago I was almost bed-ridden. Now I am not. The Guaifenesin protocol, when followed correctly WORKS. Also, there seems to be MANY of us fibro moms with kids on the Autistic spectrum. Makes ya wonder.

    Whenever I learn of someone with fibro my conscience demands that I pass along this information. It has saved my life and my family. I’m not getting paid to say this, and the doctor who has developed this protocol is NOT selling any pills.

    Blessings to you.


Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 415,755 hits

