Hitting the Wall

Runners describe a metabolic occurrence as “hitting the wall”; their bodies use up vital stores of glycogen or quick burning sugars. The result is not what you might visualize as literally falling down in the middle of the road. Instead, the runner slows down, even though they may have been feeling just fine a minute before. They feel tired. Then they have to stop and eat or consume a sugary drink to restore the balance.

Those of us who must work outside the home “hit the wall” frequently, in our minds, hearts, and bodies. We forget (or fail to plan or just do not have time) to eat properly. We are thinking about home when at work. When at home, we think of work. At least nine hours of our day, plus commute, is eaten up in earning cash. Exercise, what is that? Errands get done during lunch hours or on the weekends. Some of us must travel for our business, away from home, state, and even country.

This is not some giant pity party I am staging; these are the honest realities we face in the corporate-military-industrial-government complex. Our masters are much harsher than the feminists claim our husbands and fathers ever were. The powers-that-are pay us just enough to keep coming back, grant us enough health coverage to keep us alive, and enough time off to barely sleep and eat. Our relationships, our bodies, our families, our communities, and -dare I say it- our world suffers for it.

Some of us working women, like runners, have a blessed finish line to the rat race. My line is nearing, though I do not know the exact location, I can hear the cheering crowds. Only…I am tired. My body is starting to refuse to wake up, which is traumatizing to an early bird. Every little unexpected thing sends me to the verge of tears. I dread work; I dread coming home to a mess. Neither is really cared for well.

Opportunities are opening for my husband’s future. We heard of a good position just yesterday. I am exceedingly grateful, like the marathoner who is handed a sports drink. Just two miles, just two months. I can make it.

4 Responses to “Hitting the Wall”


  1. 1 amberpeace May 8, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    Apparently, long distance runners haven’t told you about the Runner’s High, which comes after hitting the wall. Basically, we get the same reaction smoking pot does 🙂
    I have never been made for 9 -5, which is why I’m doing academics and working in the woods!

  2. 2 cbrunette May 8, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Runner’s high! I wonder how that manifests in my predicament. 😛

    Oh, I’ve got high hopes for my post 8-5-ish life. Wait and see…it involves Etsy.

    ~Anna

  3. 3 Christine May 9, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    I can completely relate to the feeling that you are having. I too worked for the corporate master and it was painful to say the least. My feminist friends would complain about how men had been trapping them and how they are never treated with respect nor are they look at as equals. I would turn to them and say, “so you work for a corporate master also? Working as a slave having more expected from you and nothing being good enough?” Well no actually I’m talking about my man… ya not work… work is fine. I frankly would assume they were in some type of denial because they are made to believe that work is freedom when in fact you are no place near freedom. You are a prisoner being told when to come and go… when to turn on and turn off… when to speak and when to keep it to yourself.

    After years of working this life my husband and I were able to reorganize our lives and expenses so that I could live free… live the life of a mother and wife… being the keeper of our home. The greatest gift God has given me was the ability to do just that.

    I will pray that you and your husband will also have the advantage of such an opportunity so that you too can live free.

    God Bless!
    Christine


  1. 1 The End is Near(er) « Veiled Glory Trackback on August 6, 2008 at 8:32 am

Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,738 hits

