Poem: Adorn the Soul

Adorn the Soul

by Anna

Eyes dart in my direction.

Twice, thrice.

My white cap and long dress

Flutter past their combat boots

And camouflaged hearts.

Who are you?

What are you?

Veiled from their view,

Is a land mine

Of intentions on display.

I wear badges

They dare not read.

Who are you?

What are you?

They begin to ask

The questions of

Themselves, hoping

This woman will hear

Their callous voices.

Who are you?

What are you?

Strip one uniform

And sew another.

Pin on ribbons

of a gentle spirit.

Adorn the soul.

2 Responses to “Poem: Adorn the Soul”


  1. 1 Susan May 6, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    Actually, I very rarely purchase milk from the store. We get all our milk raw from my brother in law who owns the first grade A certified raw for retail cow dairy in Texas (www.sandcreekfarm.net). My kiddos drank up the 1/2 gallon I was saving for yogurt and I couldn’t go get the milk from my BIL (they were out of town). I was bound and determined to make the yogurt though, so I went out and bought milk. We try really hard to purchase locally grown food and/or organic or grow/raise our own, as we feel it provides better nutrition for our family. We’re lucky as we have several farms within 45 minutes of us (some closer) where we can purchase nearly everything we can’t grow/produce ourselves. We’re also more than happy to pay more for quality food, especially since we save so much by growing and raising as much as we can.

  2. 2 Shiafatima June 3, 2008 at 4:45 am

    heeeyyyy guess what? it was a while that i liked to say my heart in a poem or alike literary thing that convey my exact feelings about modesty; specially the part that when one covers, people cant judge her by her physicall appearance any more rather they will have to judge her by her ideas and soul…etc..so one will be respected and loved because of her charcater, ideas and soul rather than be loved by her body. And just today i found this poem here that more or less convey the feeling and idea i had meant. so nicely it describes how the woman keeps herself away from being abused by dirty eyes; even if this abusing is just by looking at her. sister, my dear sister; you wrote my heart out there!..thank you fo sharing this…its exciting that you find there are other people in this world yet that have such pure heart!

    May God bless you
    byebye 🙂


Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,931 hits

