Hijabi Fashionistas

Fashion CollageConfession Time: I love following Hijab Fashion blogs. The image I’ve hot-linked here is from Hijab Style. Basically what these ladies do is use Polyvore or a similar type of collage program to assemble outfits and accessories like you see here. This could be a highly-addictive new hobby.

Some other fashionistas I follow are Islamic Fashion, We Love Hijab, The Covered Lady, and Hijab Chique.

For my long-time readers, no, I have not lost my marbles on the playground. 🙂 I’m still wearing my Goodwill gear that is rather plain (some might describe as frumpy.) So why this fashion fascination?

Two parts to it, really. The first is the awesome creativity these ladies use in assembling modest outfits. Who knew a knee-length red shirtwaist dress would look good over flare leg jeans? They think outside the Western fashion box to match their standards. [BTW, I REALLY like the whole short dress-over-pants concept. No worries about a gust of mighty prairie wind revealing one’s bare knees!] Part B of Reason One is that these outfits are unabashedly feminine, perhaps over the top for many (though it is only day-dreaming shopping for the most part.) They are proud to be women and modest!

The second reason I was impressed with this hijab fashion trend came from a video clip interviewing some young muslim women in the U.S. They said clothing style was important to them because they were being ambassadors for their religion. That really brought up a deep current in my mind. Am I accomplishing that goal with what I am wearing? Who/What am I representing? Am I reinforcing a Frumpy Modestynik stereotype? Can there be some middle ground between being fashion-obsessed and fashionable-enough so that people will be positively drawn to your message?

14 Responses to “Hijabi Fashionistas”


  1. 1 Evonne April 23, 2008 at 8:18 am

    Aha! I, for one, think you’d look downright adorable (and modest!) in this sort of clothing. Not one for pants myself, really, but the dresses could be coupled with longer layer skirts or leggings, maybe. And I’ve seen some really beautiful scarves/snoods that don’t draw too much attention. What does your hubby think? I bet he’d be delighted. C’mon, try it! 😉

  2. 2 cbrunette April 23, 2008 at 8:29 am

    Evonne,

    ::Giggle:: Yep, caught red-handed looking at “cute” clothing. 😉

    Jeff really doesn’t mind what I wear (though he offers help when I ask for it) as long as my knees and bosom are covered. That’s his boundary line, I guess. Since money is tight until this summer, I might try finding a similar outfit at Goodwill to match a scarf I already own. See how that flys at work.

    ~Anna

  3. 3 alana April 23, 2008 at 8:41 am

    I for one am very aware of the frumpynik phenomenon and try really really hard to be modest and not frumpy. It is a fine line, sometimes.

    I revently blogged here:

    http://morningcoffee.blogspot.com/2008/04/orthodox-womens-fashion-show.html

    About an interesting fashion show in Russia geared towards Orthodox Christian women. Thought you might like seeing those fashions, too.

  4. 4 Evonne April 23, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Yes, goodwill/resale shops are often the best places to find clothes that are adorable *and* modest. Old Skool. My eye has been wandering over to Etsy these days, too . . . they have vintage dresses, some of them very reasonably priced. *prod prod*

  5. 5 Hayah April 23, 2008 at 9:37 am

    Hi there!

    Thank you so much for linking to my blog! I’m glad you like the outfit 🙂

    It’s nice to see lots of other women out there who are interested in dressing modestly!

    Peace,

    Hayah

  6. 6 Steve and Paula April 23, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    Give it a try! Find out what people think. If everyone assumes you are Muslim, maybe play aroudn with it a bit.
    I myself have moved over to a Jewish style of dress, because I want to present myself as a women who lives in the 21st century, but is also very modest.
    I wear the wrap skirts and coverings that you see on Tzniut.
    People are far less intimidated by that style, comparred to when I wore jumpers and cape dresses.
    Paula

  7. 7 karen April 23, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    If you like that look, and you are lucky enough to have a large Indian community in your area. Check out the local GoodWills etc for Salwar Kameezes. They are (usually) really pretty, basically a dress, pants and a scarf. My best friend was in texas and found a goodwill with tons of them. I have one from Ebay (my Easter dress) and another Indian outfit from a goodwill in Tennessee.
    They are really pretty and practical. I like the ones that look like a dress and then you see oh she has matching leggings on. Not she is wearing pants with a dress over it. 🙂
    Also, if you sew, you can make your own. simplicity (and others) has patterns for them and JoAnn often will have 1.99 Simplicity pattern sale. WooHoo. I say this but to my knowledge I haven’t used any of the ones I have gotten on sale. 😉

  8. 8 cbrunette April 23, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    Karen,

    Oh, I love Indian/Pakistani Salwars! So many choices and utterly feminine. I’m holding those out as an option.

    Paula,

    Jewish standards of modesty are excellent. They are stringent on the skirts/dresses only point, which is ok. I work in a Library, which requires hopping up and down ladders and step stools daily. Doing this in long skirts can almost be hazardous if I trip!

    ~Anna

  9. 9 patti April 24, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    Years ago a woman came into a store I worked at wearing shalwar-kummez and I asked her where she got them. She told me that she and her mother made them, and that I could buy them from her, so I did. I got a lot of wear out of them living in a hot desert climate.

    Some years after that I bought more on eBay to wear while I was pregnant–seriously the most comfortable clothing I’ve ever owned. I still wear the tunics all the time, even though modesty is not my primary goal (as you interpret it).

  10. 10 Melinda April 25, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    I’m looking at those jeans and I’m wondering, How many people have legs THAT long and skinny?

    P.S. Second-hand clothing stores are wonderful.

  11. 11 murid_aisha June 9, 2008 at 5:15 am

    Yes, layering of skirts over pants was a hippie favprite of mine that crossed over for the stylish hijabi in me. It’s fun too because all of those knee-length (or slightly shorter) summer dresses are too cute to pass up… I feel summery while the layering covers all the modesty-bases 🙂
    Hijabi fashion blogs are my favorite thing to google at work… which is how I found you and a few other ladies who cover.
    Peace,
    aisha

  12. 12 samah007 July 2, 2008 at 7:54 am

    How did I ever miss this post? Forgive me for being late. Thanks for linking my blog. Like others, I’m happy to know that there are other women committed to dressing modestly. I sometimes forget that Muslim women aren’t the only ones. As you guessed, some of the fashion is fantasy shopping. Other times it’s art for me. I also use some of my polyvore designs as a model for [cheaper] outfits I might put together later. I’m happy to be part of the hijabi fashionista gang just as long as people don’t go overboard and forget the “higher purpose” of dressing modestly. 😉

  13. 13 LisaM October 6, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    I just found this article – it’s a good one!

  14. 14 Zaenab December 3, 2008 at 9:25 am

    lol so do i 😀 great outfit too


Leave a Reply

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,136 hits

