First, Do Nothing!

This article was just the right thing for me at the right time! Thanks be to God. As is typical for some autistic folks, I get all wrapped up in a concern for a short time and lose my bearings. I worry, stress, and want to give up (even though there isn’t a reason to do all of that!)

If you skip down past the first two sections about the evils of hormonal contraception, you will come to a refreshing take on how to restore reproductive health. Zero step: Do Nothing! Ahhh…I like that part. I’ve know so many couples who have tried to have children, exhausted all ethical options, given up, and then have a baby! So this year (or however long as the Spirit leads) we will relax. Try a few changes. See what happens.

Over the past three or four days, I have had a generous helping of love and encouragement from God. He really does care about this. The Bible is a litany of women who wanted children – or were denied them – or were given one when they did not expect it! The Baby is not to become an idol. Abraham and Sarah proved that. Sure, I want one, but does this mean I want someone more than the glorification of God? If I am not to be a “traditional” parent, why waste my loving nature in bitterness, worry, and sadness?

The message for today, “Be faithful and hopeful!”

8 Responses to “First, Do Nothing!”


  1. 1 Ginny April 16, 2008 at 9:14 am

    Well, praise the Lord, you came to that realization early.
    😀 It took me a while…

  2. 2 cbrunette April 16, 2008 at 9:41 am

    Our Lord is merciful, is He not? I am so, so relieved!

  3. 3 Evonne April 16, 2008 at 10:22 am

    De-lurking to say I’m very, very happy for you. Glad He got through. Contentment, I hear, is awfully good for the body, too. 🙂

  4. 4 Evonne April 16, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Wow, such rhyming. Declare that I’m a poet, I do!

  5. 5 Dawn April 16, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    See I am the calm spouse, you know…’God will give us a baby when He decides’ and my husband is the impatient one which drive me nuts…and then of course there is his family always butting in our business wanting to know when we are going to have a baby. They aren’t satisfied with the answer we give them ‘in God’s time’….ugh….I love my inlaws but they need to stop asking the same repeteitve questions every time we talk to them.
    We don’t ask them personal information about thier lives so it’s none of their business what goes on in ours.

  6. 6 cbrunette April 17, 2008 at 7:01 am

    Dawn,

    Yeah, we are getting some of those questions now…even from acquaintances. What our stock answer is, “Whenever God pleases.” This puts our Christian friends into an awareness that perhaps they could pray for us without us directly asking for it.

    ~Anna

  7. 7 Mrs. Amy Brigham April 17, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    Thank you for this post, Anna. Contentment is something I struggle with, and I sadly will admit that The Baby has been an idol for me in the past, and even at times now. It’s especially difficult when people, both near strangers and those who know my pregnancy track record, start asking when we’ll be having a baby (or now when Peapod will have a sibling) and I have to bite my tongue to not say ‘when they stop dying in-utero, that’s when!” :o( Shouldn’t small talk be about the weather and not personal, and oftentimes painful subjects?

  8. 8 cbrunette April 17, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    Amy,

    I whole-heartedly agree about small talk subjects! I’ve learned through our experience and others’ like yours that I must be careful about inquiring about child-bearing. Friends and family (even strangers!) ask because they like to share in joyous times. A better strategy might be to change the subject and declare something else exciting that is going on in a couple’s life together. I try to use that awkward bit of silence to brag on my husband’s achievements! 🙂

    ~Anna


Leave a Reply

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,934 hits

