Modest Dress Through The Week – Tuesday

Last evening was really hectic for me, but a joyful hectic! I received a kombucha mushroom in the mail from this dear blogging lady. So I bustled about, trying to set up a brewing jar for my new exotic pet.

Jeff took this picture just before I changed into my jammies for the night. This is my favorite jumper that I sewed. The pattern is from Common Sense Patterns, the Empire Waist version. My headcovering (which is hidden) is from She Maketh Herself Coverings, the Dutch Cap style. Close up below:

 

I use white clippies now from Prayer Coverings.

And how could I forget my adorable brown Mary Janes? They were a Wal-Mart special 3 years ago…and the straps have held up!

Tonight will also be a busy one; we are going to Bible Study. Maybe the camera will tag along!

9 Responses to “Modest Dress Through The Week – Tuesday”


  1. 2 Susan April 2, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Cute jumper! I really like the color!

  2. 3 Kristen April 3, 2008 at 4:21 am

    I love that outfit. Looks like something from my closet 🙂

  3. 4 Mrs. Gillet (Katie) April 3, 2008 at 7:58 am

    If you don’t mind an opinion, I think you look a bit more natural when a little band of hair shows between your forehead and your covering, the way it does in this picture and doesn’t in the last two you’d posted.

  4. 5 Christine April 3, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    I love your outfit! It’s so spring and jumps out with the color.

  5. 6 Paula April 3, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    Hi Anna,
    THought I would share something. My brother in law has Aspergers.
    He has never been officially diagnosed , and no one helped him out, hence he has no idea himself. He has no social skills, so is very difficult to spend time with.
    Anyway, I was wondering what you think of the theory of vaccines in relation to Autism.
    Reason I ask, is because in the Amish community, there is only 2 or 3 cases, and these children were adopted by into the Amish, hence they are the only Amish that have had vaccinations.
    Just curious what you think.

  6. 7 cbrunette April 3, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    Hi Paula,

    I had not heard that trend (of no autism) in the Amish community before. It might be worthy of study. However, because they tend to be a “closed-loop” genetically speaking, this might account for the lack. They are also very protective of their disabled and care for them at home. Epidemiologists might not be aware of the autism incidence because it is simply not diagnosed as much. Plus, because of the protectiveness and closed nature of their communities, a little oddity is acceptable to an extent.

    So, that said, I do not see how vaccines “cause” autism because there were autistics before vaccines and in populations that were not vaccinated. I believe autism is a set of neuro-biological traits. Some have more of the traits (more “severe cases”) and some have less.

    If you have more questions, I can e-mail you privately.

    ~Anna

  7. 8 cbrunette April 3, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    Thanks for the kudos, ladies! The jumper is actually a darker pumpkin color with a leaf print on it. The internet made it pop out in bright orange. 🙂

    ~Anna

  8. 9 Paula April 3, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    Hi Anna, Thanks for your reply
    You may email me if you like.
    Here is a link that shows its not just the unvaccinated Amish that do not have it.
    http://www.infowars.com/articles/science/autism_none_for_unvaccinated_amish.htm
    There is a fair amount of research out there .
    Paula


Leave a Reply

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,180 hits

