Covering for Beginners – When

You are here, reading this blog, because you’ve been somehow drawn towards the ancient Christian practice of covering one’s head. There are the usual reasons for the conviction, from reading Scripture in a new light to seeing another woman who covers and becoming intrigued. How ever which way you ended up here, it is clear to you that God has spoken and you must obey. But how? I will go through several questions every woman must clarify, especially if she is not a part of a church that actively promotes covering. Let’s start with,

When do I cover?

There are basically two sides to the timing of when a woman should cover her head. First, there are those who think women should cover during all waking hours because we are to “Pray without ceasing.” [1 Thes 5:17] This does not include showering/bathing, of course. 😉 Some women even keep a shawl by her bedside so that should she awaken during the night and feel the need to pray, she is ready.

On the other side of the coin are those who think the covering should be only for public Christian assemblies. For them, the covering is a symbolic act which is necessary for a worship gathering (Mass, Bible Study, etc.).  These ladies may also choose to cover during private prayer and devotions in the home.

As with most anything else in life that is left up to mostly personal interpretation, there is a wide spectrum in between the two extremes. Within my covering practice, I’ve left some room for flexibility. For instance, I take my covering off when at home for my husband. He loves my hair and enjoys seeing it down. For most any other occasion that takes me outside my front door, I cover. The covering, for me, is an act of modesty as well as a spiritual symbol.

Finding the right level of obedience takes some time. I suggest that women try a “training wheels” approach at first. Put on your covering when in private prayer or devotions. Remember to do it every time. Then, when you feel “steady”, try it out at your church gathering. Again, consistency is the key. If your calling is to go full-time, and your husband is hesitant over the issue, grant him a test period of at least a week or two. Pray like the house is on fire the entire time, so that the grace of God will shine through this act! He may be won over to the Lord over this issue because of your attitude.

6 Responses to “Covering for Beginners – When”


  1. 1 karen March 19, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    The middle of the coin is those who cover for both public and private worship. (That’s what I do, because the Bible doesn’t say those who pray in public dishonor their head)

  2. 2 LisaM March 19, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    This is certainly an article I would have appreciated when I first began to cover. I was covering “all the time” for a while, but then I realized that prayer should not be something that I just “shoot up” in a loose understanding of “praying always”, but that when I put on a veil it is to pray, and makes me more seriously consider my prayers, and to Whom they are made. Other times, I am reminded of my role and creation purpose, as I struggle to keep it on while I work or teach my children. It had the danger of becoming meaningless – to me – when I wore it constantly. Putting it on always reminds me of 1 Cor. 11 reasoning, and makes it a more “ceremonious” – that is, serious, circumspect – thing. Thank you for your posts.

  3. 3 David Kinsella May 9, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Hi,
    I’m actually a husband who was drawn to your sight and has come (at long last) to the determined view that a women must cover her head in obedience to the Word of God. Can you give us some links to resources? We’ve already ordered some. I like the charity veil. My wife will do it and agrees with me, but was not practising it.

  4. 4 Kat March 7, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    I used to cover full-time in college for a while…I found it was easier if I wanted to pray on the spot, or whatever.

    After a while I found it morphing into covering whenever I was out–even if I left the dorm room to go to the bathroom and didn’t have something on my head in the room, I’d pull the hood of my sweatshirt up or something. Especially when visiting my boyfriend in the men’s dorms.

    That was interesting to me. I’ve never especially covered for reasons of modesty–that is, I never felt a male seeing my hair was a big deal–but somehow that was what it began to resemble. Never would’ve guessed.

  5. 5 Alicia January 24, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    I really liked your blog. Thank you for offering this service to the ladies. I have worn a covering for about 14 years now. When I had my business and made/sold headcoverings this would have been so helpful to the ladies who wrote to me. Keep it up. I know you are doing a great service.
    Blessings,
    Alicia


  1. 1 Veiled Glory: Head Covering 101 « Offbeat Modest Dress Trackback on March 26, 2008 at 2:00 pm

Leave a Reply

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,136 hits

