The Gym and Weight-loss Update

Woooo-eeeeh! Am I sore today! Last night I went to my first “Body Pump” workout class, offered for free at my University. The class was similar to The Firm, lots of reps and low weights. We mostly used a light barbell for the whole hour. Yeah, an hour. I thought I would be more sore than I feel…but the instructor said the second day afterwards would be the roughest. Yipee-skippy.

So this was the first time I’ve been out in public wearing my exercise gear since going Modest and Covered, approximately 2 years. The class was held in a second floor loft area of the gym, with the basketball court below. They also drew a curtain to separate the space from the circuit weight machines right next door. That afforded some privacy. There were only women in the class….but….

I felt so utterly naked.

Its not so much that all the men stared at me. I’m used to ‘stareage’ for being covered. Now the young men, God Bless ’em, were looking at my body. You know that kind of looking. The “golly-she-is-hot” kind of looking. UGGH.

What was I wearing?!? Well, my workout gear consisted of grey yoga pants, a long t-shirt, and a bandanna with my hair still in a bun. Not that revealing. Still, my legs were outlined quite a bit.

The Quandary: Should I go to another class? I like the discipline of going at a set-time to exercise. And, it is free! If I wear much more clothing, I fear I won’t be able to move without restriction.

Maybe this is the answer.

In the weight-loss arena, I am still at 125 pounds. No budging. I think this is because of my recent muscle-building ventures. The body is shifting into creating more muscle so the scale balance might be in limbo until the fat-burning kicks in. That’s what I’m hoping is going on.

5 Responses to “The Gym and Weight-loss Update”


  1. 1 karen March 5, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    I just ordered a swimsuit from modest-swimwear.net that I plan on using when I ride my bike (I don’t swim much), maybe something like that would help you. freedom of movement, yet still covered and they are really pretty. the suits are kinda expensive (at least for me) but if you sew they sell both the patterns and even an already cut fabric. Or you could improvise something that makes you comfortable.
    Also in my city, there are several women only gyms maybe there is one around you away from creepy guys.

  2. 2 Dawn March 6, 2008 at 12:25 am

    I used to work out at the gym on base in a full length skirt and shirt. Just used to wear shorts underneath. The fuller your skirt is the more room you have to do more things.
    Sure I got stared at but I didn’t care.
    I was still modest, even while working out 🙂

    God Bless!

  3. 3 Geri March 6, 2008 at 1:25 am

    Wow I can’t believe men have the audacity and disrespect to stare like that with you seeing. I mean, they probably think they are complimenting you by letting you know they think they are hot, but still to so blatantly stare goggle-eyed like that I would have gone over and slapped them. LOL well maybe not that but I sure would have glared. Good for you though for the workout! I hope you find a solution to your modest-workout problem.

  4. 4 Christine March 6, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    Kudos to you for working out. I have yet to make that committment LOL! Just my opinion but I think you should continue if you are enjoying it. Plus like you said it’s free! I know what you mean by feeling naked. Just wearing my exercise pants makes me uncomfortable at the YMCA we go to as a family. But I look at it this way that there is no other way we can work out comfortably. So for that short period of time feeling uncomfortable think of the benefits for your health that you are working out.

    Good luck to you & keep up the great job!
    Christine

  5. 5 Dody June 20, 2008 at 4:38 am

    Its not so much that all the men stared at me. I’m used to ’stareage’ for being covered. Now the young men, God Bless ‘em, were looking at my body. You know that kind of looking. The “golly-she-is-hot” kind of looking. UGGH.


Leave a Reply

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,209 hits

