Custom

A prominent home school/homemaker blogger has written a stance on the head covering topic. I will not do a verse-by-verse rebuttal. That is not necessary because I will not even try to convince some one of a spiritual practice they deem a custom. I would only politely state that the whole argument in 1 Corinthians 11 must not be chopped up.

I shall follow Paul’s admonition in 11:16 to refrain from contention, not from veiling my head.

::UPDATE::  Anne’s School Place wrote an excellent rebuttal to the above article.

12 Responses to “Custom”


  1. 1 Geri March 4, 2008 at 10:37 am

    I just skimmed through her blog (got a hungry 18mo I am trying to type and feed at the same time!) and was so confused. Everything I have read in the Bible (I’m sorry I can’t quote the Passages since I am terrible for remembering even so much as what I had for dinner last night) points towards headcovering. There is one passage (and I apologize now for tearing it apart by not using the proper terms) that says that women must cover their heads while praying, but a man who covers his head while praying dishonours his head. So I took that to mean that headcovering is a must within Christian society for women. So in reading that other woman’s blog, I was a little confused. Her argument was more of an attempt to “hear what she wanted to hear” in my humble opinion.

  2. 2 cbrunette March 4, 2008 at 10:48 am

    Yes, I will agree with you Geri, that her arguments are confusing. You are remembering 1 Corinthians 11. 🙂

  3. 3 Mrs. Brigham March 4, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    I must admit that I also found the argument quite confusing. After much study & prayer on this issue, I have only recently began covering, and right now am miserable at tying my scarf correctly AND keeping little hands from pulling it off my head, along with my glasses. For the longest time I justified not covering by using the “cultural” argument, but have since come to understand that this is not correct and the reason why I have felt so much strife about this issue.

  4. 4 mamajuliana March 4, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    …I don’t understand…why some women get so defensive and have to ‘defend’ their position on not covering? It seems that they want contention rather than peace. All of the women who I know that do cover seem at peace and don’t want contention; they are women of prayer. Perhaps the ‘conviction’ of not wearing the veil causes defensiveness?

  5. 5 cbrunette March 4, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    Usually we are most uncomfortable when we are struggling against the Spirit of God. Good points, ladies.

    Mrs. Brigham~ Not knowing which type of veiling you wear, I would suggest two things to keep it on one’s head.

    1.) Clippies – the old-fashioned metal ones. Plain & Simple coverings carries white and black ones. My non-tied coverings stay put with a couple strategic clippies, even through the strongest Oklahoma wind!

    2.) Tying Scarves – Tznius.com has some excellent tutorials. I wear my square scarves, doubled into a triangle, with a simple knot at the back of my head, and then fold or twist the two ends back over my head. This is called a crown style, I believe. That stays on for the entire work day.

  6. 6 Geri March 4, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    I have only begun researching this and am so eager to learn more about headcovering. No one does it in my area, but reading the Bible makes me convinced that it is what God intends for women to do. I just need to find some places that sell one’s that I can easily wear with my outfits.

  7. 7 Mrs. Gillet (Katie) March 4, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    I’m with Geri, sort of scratching my head at the writer’s position that nothing points toward covering. I’ve never encountered “v-a-i-l” as anything but a place in Colorado or a misspelling of “v-e-i-l”. Seems very odd to me.

  8. 8 Christine March 4, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    Makes no sense to me at all what she writes. To simple search veil as she did certainly is going to bring us various different ideas that have nothing to do with actual “head coverings”. You would have to do a most specific search not just veil.

    To each his own I guess.
    Christine

  9. 9 karen March 4, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    I currently dont’ cover. But while reading her site, I found myself saying things like “that’s wrong,” and realizing that I do believe in the covering – didnt’ realize until I saw the errors in her logic. Now I have to determine if as a single woman I should cover (my parents (Christian) probably won’t like it if I do), and when.
    My biggest issue has been that since I have been backslidden my testimony isn’t the best – and I don’t want to be a hypocrite by showing an outward symbol while my inward life is still in shambles.
    But, I have found that wearing something on my head serves as a reminder to me of whose child I am and who is reflected by my actions. that alone is reason to cover.

  10. 10 cbrunette March 5, 2008 at 8:15 am

    Karen,

    I was in a similar situation as you find yourself not too long ago. There is a phrase common among veiled ladies which goes something like this, “Be veiled in your heart before you veil your head.” This means, basically, that the conviction comes first and then the outward action.

    Sometimes the conviction might seem only cerebral, that it causes discomfort as we discussed above. When our Lord shows the way to obey, clear as day, we can only say yes and be at peace. Your taking the covering might be part of the healing process for your soul. Or it might not. Pray, pray, pray until you have the clarity for action.

    If you think that your parents would disapprove, you might wish to go “part-time” and cover at worship gatherings and in private. The Lord has compassion on our willingness to obey Him and to honor our parents.

    Peace and Blessings ~ Anna

  11. 11 Anita March 5, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    Karen
    wearing a head covering in no way implies you feel your faith is untouchable. I cover (mostly during meetings and prayer, but sometimes at home as well) and I deffinatly dont feel like my faith is anywhere near as strong as some of the women I know. You have to make the decission for yourself as to what think God wants of us. Once you have decided what you think He wants, the choice no longer is yours. You either obey Him or not. So the question is have you come to the understanding that covering is required? When you can answer this without reservation, you know what you need to do.
    Anita

  12. 12 karen March 5, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    thanks ladies,
    You have helped alot,
    I have alot to think & pray about and I also should talk to my parents. I don’t think they will be upset if I do because they taught me to follow my convictions, but they will be confused and worried that I am thinking of turning Amish. 🙂 Me give up computers, no way! 🙂


Leave a Reply

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,209 hits

