Sample Menu

Because you were so curious to know what I ate yesterday:

Breakfast: 2 small scones (biscuit size) with butter, vanilla yogurt with sliced peaches.

Lunch: Generous cup of taco soup (like chili, but with a twist), and corn chips.

Snack: Power bar. Sometimes I need a little extra food between lunch and when dinner will be ready, especially if I need to cook that night. If I don’t snack, and I feel hungry, I most likely will have a sugar crash.

Dinner: Falafel patties wrapped in two small flour tortillas, Green Goddess dressing, and an apple.

Water was my only drink. No liquid calories!

Yeah, I could do better with veggies. Something in me just doesn’t like eating raw veggies in the winter time. My coworker asked me how I was losing weight. She said, “Is it because you eat such little, bird-sized portions?” I do eat smaller portions than others, but I make sure it is calorie dense, with protein and fat so I feel full at the end. 🙂

3 Responses to “Sample Menu”


  1. 1 Geri February 26, 2008 at 11:01 am

    Mmmm…my mouth is watering reading what you ate…yummy!! Did you make the scones? Also, the falafel patties-do you buy those? Or make them? Those wraps sounded so yummy I will have to try them sometime!

  2. 2 cbrunette February 26, 2008 at 11:18 am

    Geri,

    The falafel recipe is from here:

    http://www.hillbillyhousewife.com/falafel.htm

    I don’t deep fry them, only pan fry with about 4 tablespoons of olive oil. This is a really quick and easy dinner! You can dress them up with lettuce and tomato or just go plain in a wrap with some sort of dressing. You can also make some middle-eastern concoction with cut up cooked potatoes, eggplant, and green pepper with a garlic-y dressing (no recipe, I just wing it!). Stuff all of the above in a pita with a couple falafel patties and you are in the third heaven.

    I made the scones, but not from scratch this time. Our aunt sent us one of these Christmas care packages that had a plethora of baking mixes and jams and jellies. 😀 So I finally got around to baking the scones on Sunday. Mmmmm… I’ll have to find a recipe just like those.

    Jeff said that his classmates are always asking him what he ate for dinner! LOL Apparently falafel, homemade pizza, and tofu dishes are just not regular Oklahoma fare. 😛

  3. 3 Geri February 26, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    LOL-it sounds delicious! I am excited to try that falafel recipe. I have gotten so many good recipes off of HBHW…the Army Man rice is delicious! My DH is always getting asked what he had for dinner too…apparently having a home-cooked meal here in BC is rare lol.

    I love care packages! Sounds like your was a delight! Mmmm…

    By the way, just to let you know I stumbled across your site from Home-Steeped Hope’s website (which I stumbled across while searching for an Amish Friendship bread recipe :). My name is Geri and I am from BC. I really appreciate this web-site. I admire your modest dress and hope that I too can slowly transform my wardrobe into a more modest one. I already have started a bit in the last year or two switching over, but it is a long process I find. For one it’s hard to find modest clothing, and for two it’s hard to find the money lol. But slowly and surely I am switching over. Thanks for the falafel recipe!


Leave a Reply

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,136 hits

