Lent starts today!

Cara Michele put up a reminder post today about it being Ash Wednesday, which is the start of Lent, or the Church season of repentance and preparation for Resurrection Sunday. I have been observing Lent these last 4 years, after I had the privilege of being a part of an evangelical Anglican church. Before I did not have any experience with following the Church calendar. That first Lent, I was really impacted by the daily reminder of “giving up” something and “adding” something else. So, I’ve carried on with observing it even though I belong to a church body who does not.

One web page I’ve found helpful for those new to the concept is put out by SpiritHome.com It is written from a more evangelical/Protestant perspective, but incorporates lots from Church history.

Unfortunately, I will not be able to attend an Ash Wednesday service this evening. My workplace is putting on a special dinner that I must attend. šŸ˜¦ Still, when I return home, I will spend some time in reflection with the Psalms and readings normally used in the service.

1 Response to “Lent starts today!”


  1. 1 Laura February 27, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    Scripturally lent is “optional.” It is pagan-catholic inspired not Christ inspired.


Leave a Reply

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 415,799 hits

