Christian Conferences

My back has recovered for the most part…but I still have to sit in front of the infernal computer at work. I will go rooting around in the Archives for some other project to do.

Been thinking a lot lately about how my current stream of Christianity is so enamored with Conferences and Concerts:

  • What do you all think of Christian Conferences?
  • Have you attended one within the last two years?
  • Do they actually impact your spiritual growth in the long-term?
  • Are they all hype, fluff, foaming, and means of selling the latest DVDs, books, t-shirts, and potions?
  • Would you rather attend a small retreat center in the country?
6 Responses to “Christian Conferences”


  1. 1 Atnre January 15, 2008 at 9:40 am

    Everything in moderation. . . but I do think they are necessary. One can definitely leave these conferences emotionally charged but not substantially transformed. But this is often the result of personal discipline.

    I will be doing an entry this week on leadership development that better captures my feelings about this. Beyond spiritual growth, these conferences are good for networking, learning, and sharpening ourselves overall.

    -Atnre http://aalleyne.wordpress.com/

  2. 2 Ginny January 15, 2008 at 10:22 am

    I understand about your back. I have bad back problems for almost 20 years now.

    As for conferences, I have never been to one and never had any desire to… I don’t think I have suffered as a result.
    😀

  3. 3 Mrs. Brigham January 15, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    I have never attended a conference and would not really be interested in doing so. I do think people might get an emotional high from such an event, and I do believe that some people probably do experience a great extent of spiritual growth, but I do not think a large conference is necessarily the place to best foster, encourage and edify each other in the ways of our Lord. A smaller scale where people can really talk, connect, share, and ask questions seems to be a better way to grow in our walks with God.

    I have had opportunity to attend small retreats and have always benefited from there. The church I grew up in hosted several different types of these retreats through the year, and always had a wonderful family retreat every fall. My family attended almost every year and we always had a wonderful time growing in faith and worshiping together.

    My husband and I have also attended a marriage retreat together during our first year of marriage that was just wonderful. A couple that have been married for over 50 years ran much of the program and the wisdom and stories they shared with us are something they I often find myself reflecting on. From growing closer to God to dealing with the bumps that come with marriage & parenthood, these dear people covered all of the bases and God has truly used them to be a blessing to me & my husband.

  4. 4 Susan January 15, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    Hi Anna! I just stopped by to visit and let you know we’re FINALLY back online! I sure have missed reading everyone’s blogs! Have a beatiful day sweetie!

  5. 5 Rebecca January 20, 2008 at 1:19 am

    Hi! I love the pink!

    To answer your question: I think we’re so enamored with conferences because our relationships are not what they should be. And I haven’t attended one for a few years, other than going to the marriage conference this past fall, because I think they are primarily pump you up fluff.

    Like our local Christian radio station’s slogan: “a friend when you need one”. How can a radio station be a friend?

  6. 6 Joey January 26, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    After helping lead a youth ministry for 4 years, and attending multiple conferences per year, I can attest to its inability to do anything spiritually productive long-term, other than provide some very good memories.

    Missions trips, however, are entirely different. Our youth ministry worked within poverty in Sacramento two years in a row and you can still see the change in them years past.


Leave a Reply

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,233 hits

