Brown Bonnet

As promised, here are some photos of my new brown bonnet! I went on a sewing binge over last weekend, churning out this bonnet, two headbands (as gifts), some cloth pads, and a table skirt (still under construction, I’ll post pics of that later.) I woke up with a head cold today, most likely what Jeff was suffering from earlier this week. šŸ˜¦ That will slow me down in the sewing department because I can’t think properly enough and make mistakes.

The bonnet is based on this pattern from King Pod patterns. This version is following the pattern exactly, except for the small pleat in the back I added to help it hug around my bun. The outer fabric is baby whale brown corduroy and the lining is a soft brown herringbone flannel. I’d rate the pattern between beginner and intermediate. The directions are a bit vague at some points so some visualization skills and sewing creativity are necessary.

The brim is rather narrow, I will widen it in future versions. The tie is an inch wide tan grosgrain ribbon.

You can see that the bonnet is floppy, because there is no buckram or other shaping element inside. This is fine enough for me!

3 Responses to “Brown Bonnet”


  1. 1 Ginger December 27, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    that is so cute!!!

    Ginger

  2. 2 Ginny December 27, 2007 at 8:05 pm

    Your floppy, brown bonnet is actually very nice. I rather like them floppy. šŸ˜€ Alas, I cannot wear a bonnet, though, because it blocks my peripheral vision. When working out in the garden on a sunny day, I wear a large straw hat, tied under the chin. šŸ™‚ For windy, cold days, I wear a scarf tied under the chin. Your sewing job looks really nice, too.


Leave a Reply

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,570 hits

