This Can’t Be Happening…

You get the phone call….

…from a collection agency!

I’m still quaking from it. So far, in all my days of recent poverty, I’ve managed to stay on top of the bills and not get anything disconnected. One medical bill notice came early last month, saying that if I did not make a payment, they would turn it over to collections. I did write out a decent sized check right away and it was cashed. So I thought this settled it. Nope!

But I did not let the fear paralyze me. I kept the collections person on the phone while I checked my bank account to see if that check had indeed been cashed. I told her so. She reluctantly stated that she would call the medical office to check on it. I did not trust them to follow through, so I called over to the office right away.

It was a mistake!!! The billing lady was truly shocked and apologetic.

Still, this will probably show up on my credit report at some point, even if it were an oopsie. Thank you God, that it was not worse!

1 Response to “This Can’t Be Happening…”


  1. 1 Olivia April 1, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    I just started reading your blog, and I enjoy it so much! I know these things are upsetting, but I wanted to let you know that the company can put a request in to fix this on your credit report, if it did happen to show up as a blemish. We recently went through this with a utility bill from a city we used to live in ( three years ago), and the woman offered to put in for a fix even without me asking. I also had to do it many many times myself, when I worked for a credit card company. However, it probably won’t come to that.
    God Bless!


Leave a Reply

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,517 hits

