Book Review: Passionate Housewives, Desperate for God

[I finished reading the book at the beginning of December, forgive me for the lag time. You may purchase the book from Vision Forum here.]

To be honest, I had not planned to purchase the book on my own, but when there was a drawing for Ladies Against Feminism supporters in mid-November, I decided to enter. And, surprise! I won a copy! Mrs. Chancey graciously signed the inside cover for me. 🙂 I already have other most-recommended wifely books like Created to Be His Helpmeet, Fascinating Womanhood, and the Excellent Wife, so I thought I would wait on getting Passionate Housewives for a while. I am glad to have it now.

While this book is geared towards those who have children, I found much value in their thorough presentation. The first chapter is a fictional vignette of a mother in the “before Passionate” state, illustrating all the negativity that can build up in a woman’s mind when she is focused on herself. Near the end of the book, the same family is revisited after the mother has resolved to be JOYfull (Jesus First, Others Second, Yourself Last) in her role as wife and mother. The intervening chapters are rotated between Mrs. Chancey and Mrs. McDonald. They cover many of the subjects I have read before in the earlier books, but they focus much more on the selflessness of being a Christian housewife and how this affects all you do and how the world perceives you.

There were a couple of times that I did feel convicted over my whiny nature, “oh poor me!” attitude. The Lord brought to mind a few specific patterns of speech or behavior that were not honoring to Him or Jeff. Phew, I’m glad I nipped those in the bud! If I had just gone my merry way, what sort of harvest would I have received?

My favorite chapter is perhaps the most practical or nuts and bolts of the book, number eleven. Mrs. Chancey shares about her amazing multi-talented mother and how much she learned from her. Then the chapter lists all the accomplishments the Bible lists as befitting a helpmeet and keeper at home. Wow, I was impressed with the magnitude of our influence!

I heartily recommend the book and for you to open your heart to their teaching as solid and trustworthy.

1 Response to “Book Review: Passionate Housewives, Desperate for God”


  1. 1 Mrs. June Fuentes December 27, 2007 at 9:19 am

    I agree, this book was worth the read and quite honest—how refreshing!

    Many blessings….


Leave a Reply

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 415,799 hits

