Proverbs 31 Queen Makeover

I heard nails scrapping across a chalkboard this evening as I was listening to the local news. They were reporting on a winner of a “Queen Makeover” contest who received some rather extensive “gifts”: a personal trainer for 3 months, botox shots, permanent make-up, laser hair removal, hair restyling (for the hair that is left), and some new outfits, including a set of Spanxs for body shaping, from a trendy boutique. ACCCKK! Is this what it takes to feel like a queen these days?!? Just fathom all of the unnecessary pain involved in becoming a Queen in the world’s eyes. Except maybe the personal trainer, all of those things are just plain old cruel.

How about a Proverbs 31 makeover instead? Here is what I would really love to have:

[Updated]

  1. Services of a Professional Organizer to aid you in better lay out your home and de-junk.
  2. A couple of lovely dresses and aprons from The Kings Daughters. (No shapewear required!)
  3. Quilting lessons or whatever craft you would like to learn.
  4. A gift membership to a Community Supported Agriculture Farm for a season’s worth of fresh vegetables, fruits, and eggs and possibly milk or meat.
  5. A set of cloth diapers or Ergo carrier (if you have a baby.)
  6. Small business consultation, if you would like to start your own.
  7. A tea party hosted for all you, your lady friends and family.
  8. A grain mill and a 50 pound bag of organic wheat.
  9. [If I had a yard…] A professionally installed herb garden.
  10. A “wildcrafting” tour with a knowledgeable person on edible plants and mushrooms.

What else would you like to receive if there was such a makeover?

[My husband heartily enjoyed this post as I read it to him!]

5 Responses to “Proverbs 31 Queen Makeover”


  1. 1 Amy December 16, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    Count me in!! I would have a Proverbs 31 make over ANYDAY!!

    Great post!!:)

  2. 2 wilkinson4jesus December 16, 2007 at 8:43 pm

    Me too! Sounds Great!

    A new dress or two for the daughters would be nice to add.

    A live in Nanny/Made for a month or so. To help so you could catch up on all those unfinished projects and crafts.

    Private cooking lessons to learn some of those ethnic / extravagant or other dishes.

    Wow this would be great. I like the “No shapewear required!” comment, You made me laugh out loud. Sounds much better to me 😉

    Anna
    Simple Living Alaska
    http://www.simplelivingak.wordpress.com

  3. 3 cbrunette December 16, 2007 at 8:46 pm

    Uggh—Don’t even get me started on pantyhose… 😀

    I just thought of another idea to add to the list…but then it disappeared…I’ll write it down next time.

    Keep adding your own wishes, this is fun!

    ~Anna

  4. 4 Dawn December 17, 2007 at 8:47 am

    Me too…I want a Proverbs 31 make over!!!

    I think you had a great list going Anna…

    Add on there…I would want to learn how to sew, knit, crochet. That’s a big thing and would be a great gift to recieve (much better than getting needles in my face for Botox…LOL.).

    Bless You!

  5. 5 Ginny December 17, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    When I first started reading the post, I was grossing out about the prizes, then I read your list… Whew! Yes! I want a Proverbs 31 makeover, too. 😀


Leave a Reply

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,629 hits

