Broiled Bread

Homekeeper Blooper of the Week:

We were out of all baked goods by last evening so I rolled up my sleeves to bake some bread after dinner. All went smoothly until the dough was ready to go into the oven. It was pre-heated to 350 F and in went the two loaves. I set the timer for 15 minutes (about 2/3 of the way done, just to check the browning on top.) Well, when I took a peak at them at 12 minutes, the tops were looking like the bread was almost done! Huh?!? I took out one loaf and flipped it out onto my mitted hand. White and soft!

Catasterous!  [Disastrous + Catastrophy = Catasterous! You heard it here first, folks. ]

The oven was clicked over to ‘Broil’, not ‘Bake’. I quickly covered the tops with aluminum foil to stop the browning process and turned the oven back to ‘Bake’, hoping that would rescue my poor bread. Sure enough, as the oven heated from below, the bread bottoms got toasty and it baked all the way through! Sweet success!

Have any Homekeeper Bloopers you’d like to share, and how you rescued the situation?

2 Responses to “Broiled Bread”


  1. 1 Ginny December 12, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    I understand. LOL! I’m glad you were able to salvage the bread.

    One time, a long time ago, I was making bread and forgot the salt. I had a small oven and the bread rose and rose and rose! It rose up around the coils in the top of the oven. I didn’t know it until the bread was done and I went to get them out of the oven. What a mess! I had to tear the bread up to get it out of the coils. It was edible, but definitely not pretty and it didn’t taste all that great, because of the lack of salt. LOL!

    Things like that happen… 😀

  2. 2 Kate September 28, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    My friend actually said “catasterous” to me and i told him it wasn’t a real word. I’m glad we aren’t the only ones who use it.


Leave a Reply

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,209 hits

