Cautious Hope in Vitex

Three weeks ago I started on an herb called Vitex or Chasteberry Tree. It is supposed to regulate pituitary gland function, especially in women. If you all remember, I went through the medical gamut to find out why I was having some clustering of symptoms that points to a pituitary problem. While my thyroid fluctuates mildly and my prolactin levels were a tad high, there wasn’t much the doctors could do for me.  I would just have to live with menstrual weirdness, acne, and weight gain.

Enter the herb! I began Vitex right after the end of my last period and continued it onward through ovulation. Most folks I’ve referenced recommend taking the herb right on through the whole cycle, unless you find yourself pregnant and then one should stop immediately.  Like most ‘natural’ remedies, it takes a couple of months before the more profound shifts occur in the body.

So far I have noticed my acne is like 50% better, not totally clear but much better than usual. The big test will be when PMS starts next week, the time when I get a flair-up. My energy levels have been consistently high and my head feels clearer throughout the day. These are wonderful things!

I will keep you all posted on how this progresses.

3 Responses to “Cautious Hope in Vitex”


  1. 1 Judy December 6, 2007 at 8:34 am

    Anna,

    The even better news is that chasteberry will grow in Oklahoma and is available through Renricks nursery in Chickasha. They sell on the Oklahoma Food Coop.

    Judy

  2. 2 cbrunette December 7, 2007 at 8:06 am

    That is great news! Except…I live in an apartment. 😦 Do you know of anyone who sells herbal things grown here in OK?

    ~Anna

  3. 3 Ginny February 9, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    Greetings!

    How is the vitex coming along? I have started using it for premenopause problems and thought of you. It’s time for an update! 😉


Leave a Reply

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,573 hits

