Working for the Government

Being early to work is wrong. Leaving slightly early is wrong. Taking a shorter lunchtime is wrong. Working too hard is just wasting your energy. Bide your time, do just barely enough to keep yourself awake, and you will get paid the same no matter what. No incentives.

These are the lessons I’ve learned while working for the State of Oklahoma.

For the last year, no one has had a problem with my work habits. I tend to arrive 15 minutes early and sometimes (2 or 3 times a week) take a half or three quarters lunch hour. This gives me some precious time at the end of the day so I can get home before my husband and start dinner. I also work hard and diligently on whatever projects come across my desk.

Well, another employee has been lax at what time she arrives and has used up her sick leave, etc. The powers that be have come down hard on her. Its only fair I receive a lecture for being too good. You must stick with the printed schedule no matter what. Just show up and leave at those times. Sigh.

I know enough of the corporate world to discern how upside down and backwards this way of treating good employees is. For the most part, if I were doing the same thing in an office scenario, I might get a raise or promotion! Now, I get “punishment” of sitting here for 8 hours a day, plus an hour for lunch.

1 Response to “Working for the Government”


  1. 1 Gemaecca September 19, 2007 at 6:21 pm

    One of the many, many reasons why I loved working for myself.


Leave a Reply

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 415,799 hits

