Autism and Clothing

One of the “Aha!” moments along my journey in learning about Autism and how it affects me was how other Autistics view clothing. This morning I read a post at NTs Are Weird which is a good summation (according to a male’s viewpoint) of how we view clothing:

“Clothing does not matter to me – I really don’t notice it very often, and don’t care much about what the current fashion is. From what I’ve seen, most autistics agree with me on this. We wear clothes because we can’t leave some body parts uncovered according to the law and because we might get cold. So we pick the clothing that does this in the most comfortable way.”

  1. Gave up on fashion following completely a couple of years ago. I would never get it quite “right”, like being able to pick out the right shoes or accessories. It all just frustrated me.
  2. Let’s not even get into the peer-pressure of high school. Uggh. Clothing divides people unnecessarily. Being wired to judge people on their behavior/character (another autistic trait), I find the posturing through costuming rather annoying (and the people in the costuming, too.) How someone acts and speaks is fundamentally more important than the label on their shirt. Period.
  3. Hate being cold. 😉

So how does my modesty-obsession fit into all of this? Seems weird for an Autistic person to be so wrapped up in clothing issues. The driving force behind my pursuit of all things modest (besides the faith-conviction factor) was a search for a uniform. If I could only roll out of bed, put something on that would be acceptable just about everywhere and was feminine, I would be fantastically happy. The only care I would have would be sewing it, washing and ironing.

Cape dresses, the Uber-Uniform, seem to fit the bill for me. If I wear one of a darker color, I am set for an dinner out or a social affair or work. If I wear a print or plaid, I’m ok for grocery shopping. They are comfortable (for me), fit the modesty guidelines, and are fairly easy to sew.

The thing that is holding me back from pursuing the Uniform is lack of cash at the moment and time to sew. So I have to settle myself for Goodwill finds and the occassional dress sewing binge.

7 Responses to “Autism and Clothing”


  1. 1 Gemaecca September 11, 2007 at 11:58 am

    Huh. I have those traits too (and a few others). Never was tested for an autism spectrum disorder though.

    By the way, thank you for the comment on my blog. It’s been awfully hard and the house seems so empty now, but kind words always help, and I appreciate it. 🙂

  2. 2 Amy September 11, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    Definitely an Aha moment!

    I think with my OCC that dressing modestly and covering is like a uniform too, I can keep it as a constant.

    Anyhoo thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. 3 Judy September 11, 2007 at 11:26 pm

    Hmmm, this is interesting. I never thought of it. I, too, am a gifted person with a brain that’s wired a bit differently (ADD). I joined the military right out of high school (uniform), I went into nursing (uniform) and in the last couple of years I’ve become completely uninterested in fashion. I like neutral colors; make all my skirts the same way; buy 2 or 3 of an identical shirt – t shirt or turtleneck depending on the season in black, brown or beige; my underthings are all white cotton of the same brand and style, (uniform).

  4. 4 laura April 4, 2008 at 7:10 am

    hi thats for sharing, i have just been told my son has autism, but anyway up untill now i could never understand why he would get nakie where ever we went, in the car he would start stripping off, in a way i look back a laugh at him doing it , cuz it was funny, but now i understand it was the autism all along and now know that its the feeling of the clothes on his skin he dont like.

  5. 5 laura April 4, 2008 at 7:10 am

    sorry its ment to say THANKS for sharing derrr..lol

  6. 6 Brian Mcnally March 8, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    I have a 7 year old with sensory issues. My wife and I have created a clothing line that helps kids feel and look great! Please check us out at http://www.sensorywearkids.com Thank you so much.

  7. 7 Shop Salwar Kameez Online October 29, 2012 at 1:38 am

    Thanks for sharing your views on autism and clothing, its really wonderful to read it.


Leave a Reply

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,146 hits

