I knew this was coming…

I received my first Nun comment last Friday. šŸ˜€

To be charitable, the lady was from the Caribbean and politely asked if I were a Nun. Maybe this is her only experience of religious wear.

I was so caught off guard that I simply replied, “No, I am not.” She let it go.

As we are getting to know the folks at our new church (been attending for over 3 months now, I’m slowly learning about their impressions of my head covering. One gentleman asked me if I came from a Mennonite background. (Which is what some other people thought, too.) He was very surprised to hear that I grew up in a Charismatic non-denominational church! He spoke glowingly to another couple last night at a Bible study about my decision to adopt the HC as a spiritual discipline. Awww…shucks…

2 Responses to “I knew this was coming…”


  1. 1 Kelli September 10, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    Awesome, glad the comment was positive. I actually got my first question about my head covering yesterday too. The gentleman attends my church and wanted to know what my church backgroud was. I told him and he said he came from a church where all the women wore covers and he said he thinks the hair is the cover. I replied that I know it can be quite a discussion, but told him that it was a personal growth thing with me, and it helps me in my walk, and my husband said he didn’t mind if I wore a cover to church only, he doens’t want me wearing it all the time. I also told him that I’m trying to mind my behavior and if I cover than I may be less likely to do something that would be negative, I used the example of maybe not goign to an R rated movie. He got a smile and I think liked my point. I didn’t mind being questioned, it made me stand up for what I believe and I actually enjoyed the conversation. Of course the brother in question was also polite. Keep up the good covers Anna. I’m encouraged by you!

  2. 2 Lori September 17, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    I found your site by ‘accident’ while searching for head covering info. This is a new step for me and my daughters but we are committed to obeying the scriptures. Does anyone have any instructions for knitting or crocheting the hair/net or snood type covering? We saw some this weekend on some ladies and my daughter would like to crochet some, but can’t find a pattern anywhere. Anyone know how? Thanks so much! I’m glad to find your site!


Leave a Reply

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,934 hits

