Letting my hair down

Quite literally! On the whole of Wednesday and Thursday afternoon, I let my hair down or never put it up. I had washed it on Weds. morning and let it air-dry. Its been over 2 weeks since I started covering every day. My hair is either in a bun or ponytail for 3/4 of the day. Feeling my hair hanging free after that time was an odd experience! Look at how long it has grown…ok, not that much difference, but my feeble brain had forgotten.

On a bright note, I received a care package from Prayer Coverings of white clippies and light brown hair nets yesterday. I left out the baggie with the hair nets in it and Jeff came out of the bedroom last night hold it out like some sort of alien substance! I showed him what they were. Very cool, he pronounced.

This morning I tested out a hair net on a basic bun. Wow, how did I live without these? My bun looks so neat and no pins are threatening to fall out. I am also wearing a white kerchief with matching clippies.  Boy, I’m feeling like an official covered lady now! I’ll post some photos this weekend of how I make my bun and attach the kerchief.

1 Response to “Letting my hair down”


  1. 1 Deanna September 7, 2007 at 7:37 am

    I had that same feeble mind way back when….LOL…I went without my covering after many weeks of wearing it daily and goodness, I felt half-naked all day and was certain my hair had grown at least an inch while tucked away!

    Ahh, the workings of a mind, heh?

    I’ve never tried hair nets. I’m glad to hear they work so well. I’ve started using those itty-bitty little jaw clips to hold my bun now….those ever-loosening bobby pins just kept me nervous while out and about some days!

    Deanna


Leave a Reply

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,136 hits

