You’re doing very well for an Autistic person…

It is official, I have Asperger’s Syndrome. This sounds much scarier than it actually is. I will include a listing of links below to help everyone understand more abour Asperger’s and Autism in general.

The psychologist was not an expert in the area of Autism but he was kind in helping weed out other possibilities. We chatted this morning about the paper tests I took last week. Essentially, I have the mental cognitions and physical perceptions of an Autistic person but have somehow “overcome” many of the social limitations. I still don’t understand the intricacies of social interaction but at least I can keep my job and navigate higher education. This is considered “successful” as far as the psychologist is concerned.

For my own take on Autism, I fall into the Neurodiversity camp who view the varieties of the diagnosis as something to be accomodated, not erradicated or cured. I like who God made me to be and become. This is not to say that Autistic people should not have any help in learning to communicate or offer assistance in other ways. The focus is on understanding how we perceive the world and make allowances for the differences instead of setting up the standard of “normal” for every child or adult to reach.

Here are some sites that have helped me understand Autism better:

So I hope this helps you in learning about Autism (though you probably wanted to learn about Modesty instead!)

9 Responses to “You’re doing very well for an Autistic person…”


  1. 1 transitust August 28, 2007 at 5:54 pm

    Well, I’ll be the first to admit I don’t know a whole lot about autism in general, so I’ll be clicking those links you provided. 🙂

    *hugs and prayers*

  2. 2 Nicole August 28, 2007 at 11:50 pm

    I love your blog and one of the reasons is that I really identify with you. We seem very much alike… I am curious how they evaluated you to find that out? I have wondered if I have Asperger’s from time to time. I don’t think it would change anything…and I think you’re right that your great the way you are.

  3. 3 Amy August 29, 2007 at 3:42 am

    I know a couple of people with Aspergers. Peoples children mostly. It is sooooooooooooooo misunderstood.

    Bless you for bringing it out in the open!

    Amy

  4. 4 Cathy August 29, 2007 at 5:58 am

    I also didn’t know much about this, and hadn’t realized that people could make it so long “normally” before being diagnosed. I’m glad you’ve been able to lead a “normal” life, so to speak.

  5. 5 cbrunette August 29, 2007 at 7:05 am

    I was a little scared telling everyone, but at the same time, I am a very open sort of person. WYSIWYG, you could say! Maybe that is part of the whole pie.

    What I feel regarding autism (the more I learn of it) is that since I am doing very well according to the rest of the world, I should try to “self-advocate” or educate others who may not know much or misunderstand when they see an autistic person in public.

    I will keep the autism discussion to a minimum, unless others want to hear about it, then I will gladly answer questions. 🙂

    ~Anna

  6. 6 Lisa in Texas August 29, 2007 at 2:08 pm

    Hello! I found your blog last week and I have been enjoying reading it. I really like the honesty. I, too, would like to know more about what lead you to being tested? Like what kind of things were you dealing with that made you think that you needed it? The reason I am asking is because sometimes I feel like I am different from everyone else and I also have a hard time making friends and so on. Anyway like I said I really do enjoy your blog and I would like to hear more about the Aspergers and such.
    Thanks so much,

    Lisa in Texas = )

  7. 7 cbrunette August 29, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    Hi Nicole and Lisa in Texas,

    I will e-mail you both separately on this subject and then maybe post on it later. 🙂

    ~Anna

  8. 8 Jana M September 13, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    Hi, Anna!

    I actually checked out your blog originally when searching for headcovering blogs on the ‘net. (I started headcovering about 1 1/2 years ago.)
    How interesting that you are also an Aspie! I have an 8 year old son who has moderate autism. He is a real joy! I homeschool him. Feel free to check out my fledgling blog.

    Am thoroughly enjoying reading your excellent blog.

    Blessings!

    Jana M <

  9. 9 sarah September 27, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    Hi! I have Asperger Syndrome also. I found your blog while looking at cape dresses and head coverings!

    Well, I am happy to make your acquaintance. Feel free to email me.

    Sarah in TX, mom to four girls four and under, some or all also on the spectrum.


Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,233 hits

