Head Covered: Third Day and Wondering…

…what I have to do to get noticed around here? πŸ˜› I’m being completely facetious. Seems like my coworkers are just going to carry on like there was nothing on my head. This is completely fine by me. Wait until the autumn begins and I pull out my full Jewish scarves! Or how about my Amish caps? Maybe that’ll get a rise out of a bunch of librarians. πŸ˜€ Other folks will ask if I quilt or make those dolls with no faces.

Today’s Outfit: Terracotta linen long-sleeved blouse paired with a brown swirly skirt and plain white kerchief. Peasant Jesus sandals to match, of course. [Can you tell I love linen? And it is easy to find at Goodwill because other people don’t like it…]

I’ve been ogling the heavy weight hair nets and white clippies over at Prayer Coverings. I put my hair up in a bun with my kerchiefs but the end result is rather messy. Perhaps the hair net can contain the spikey strands.

The weekend is almost here! Hurray! Dear Husband has given me permission to experiment in sewing up some other head coverings. I’ve got a couple designs in my head, just need to see if I can translate them into fabric.

7 Responses to “Head Covered: Third Day and Wondering…”


  1. 1 Kelli August 24, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    If you aren’t being noticed for wearing head coverings, I think it’s a good sign that your co workers are just accepting you for who you are. Wouldn’t it be better for them to not say anything and just take you at face value than saying negative things? Again I’m from CA and we’re used to people dressing in all sorts of ways, it’s just the cultural norm for us out here. When you start to wear your Jewish inspired coverings, if they cover up more of your head, many who don’t know you may think you are covering because you are going through chemo. Hopefully people aren’t that rude to make a comment about a women they think may be going through chemo. Keep up the good covering and I’m sure you’ll be able to witness for Jesus about it sometime soon. …I spoke to my husband about my covering all the time instead of just at church, he said he really likes my hair the way it is so I took that as he doesn’t want me to cover unless its chruch related. I need to be obedient to my husband in this matter, at least he lets me cover for church. I’m anxious to see more of your coverings once you have them made up. Have a great weekend Anna!

  2. 2 Rebecca August 24, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    Your outfit sounds lovely! I love linen too and often find beautiful name-brand dresses (sometimes brand-new!) at thrift stores. πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Gemaecca August 25, 2007 at 5:42 am

    I love linen too, and between the Salvation Army and Goodwill thrift stores, I’m always well-stocked in it.

    I’m going to echo what Kelli said above: If no one says anything to you, it’s probably because they’re accepting it (and you).

    FYI — if you didn’t know, ModestWorld.com just got some new scarves in stock. Awesome selections! πŸ˜‰

  4. 4 Laura August 25, 2007 at 1:58 pm

    (peeking over the wall at the pretty blog)

    Anna,

    Hang in there! It does get easier…

    πŸ™‚

  5. 5 dymphna August 26, 2007 at 7:32 am

    I like the Prayer Coverings hair nets but isn’t elastic bad for the hair?

  6. 6 cbrunette August 27, 2007 at 7:33 am

    Hi dymphna,

    I believe the elastic on the hair nets are covered but I will check with the shopkeeper to make sure.

    You’re right; bare elastic is dangerous to delicate hair!

    ~Anna

  7. 7 Laura February 27, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Jewish inspired…..very fashionable πŸ˜‰ Some may start to wonder while walking through wal-mart. Oh well let them wonder.


Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,517 hits

