Head Covered: Second Day Out

That phrase, “Coming out of the closet” has been so misused! I think we ladies should reclaim it for Coming Out of the Closet with Clothing On! In my case, I have a scarf on my head, too. 😀 [Maybe we can start our own Modest Pride holiday?]

Nothing to report from yesterday’s experience other than how weird it was to walk around campus while covered. I like to take a mid-morning break to walk for about 5-10 minutes. The morning classes were rotating so there were many young people going between buildings. I got lots of stares. I stared at them. Perhaps I’ve been reading too many etiquette books recently, but what glared at me (besides one girl’s silver lame skirt over black leggings…she must have missed the 80’s!) were the disheveled-ness of most attire. Forget the perennial lack of fabric on bodies, most folks look like they have no idea of how to organize an outfit! Yeah, they are college students but that is a poor excuse. Maybe this is a sign of how disorganized our culture has become?

Should the University (or any university) invest in etiquette classes?

Today I am wearing a long linen skirt, a long-sleeved light pink linen blouse and my plain white kerchief. Jeff mentioned that I should make a kerchief that was longer in the back to cover a bit more of my head/hair. Looks like I’ll be doing some sewing and pattern design this weekend!

“Aha! A trend…this isn’t a fashion statement…”

Update: I had one coworker not recognize me from a distance of twenty feet! She wasn’t used to seeing me with my hair pulled back. I used to wear it long all the time. Another coworker said I looked cute with the kerchief, to which I replied, “Its a new look.” Kinda fudged the truth a little with that. I don’t feel like coming out so sternly at first with a, “Its for a religious conviction!”

3 Responses to “Head Covered: Second Day Out”


  1. 1 Mary August 23, 2007 at 10:58 am

    I love the look of linen, just wish it didn’t wrinkle so badly! Sounds like it was a good day all in all.

    I agree with your observations on college dress, seems crazy that the trends can be so sloppy.

  2. 2 Kelli August 23, 2007 at 2:04 pm

    Its interesting that you get so many looks or stares, but then again I guess it depends on where you live. I live in California and we are very ethnically diverse. Seeing muslim women with coverings and Indian women with head coverings is the norm, not to mention just the teenagers and their weird dress. I haven’t gone to covering full time, I don’t cover at work but do for church. I am going to a wedding for a co worker next month and since it will be in a church I will be wearing a covering. I wonder if I’ll get any comments from co workers then. I currently have the lace coverings I purchased from Garlands of Grace. I really like those coverings. …its so hot here and in the summer I wear short sleeves. I’m starting to feel convicted of my short sleeves and need to find 3/4 length sleeves.

  3. 3 Kelli August 23, 2007 at 2:34 pm

    Ok, now that I think about it more and more, I think you are right for covering all the time. The reason I want to cover is one to show respect for the Lord when I’m worshipping and praying, and also to “check myself”. Its been too easy for me to attend questionable movies and such in public because I don’t cover. If I’m really serious about my walk with the Lord and want to set myself apart, then I need to really think about covering all the time. I know its a big step but I need to make a stand. Thanks Anna for your comments and being vulnerable. I’ll let you know how I’m coming along.


Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,931 hits

