Going Full-time with Head Covering!

This is the day I am “coming out of the religious nut closet” at work. They’ve suspected it for a long time, I am sure. 😉 I am wearing my ivory eyelet kerchief over a bun and a red and ivory plaid dress with tan suede low heels.

That’s right, I am wearing a head covering to work!  I felt the nudge in my heart to start this week while my boss was out of town. You might think its the wimpy way to go but at least its a start. The rest of the staff can rumor and speculate as much as they like and then fill in my boss when she gets back. Actually, I don’t expect too much heat from everyone else. They tend to be polite about differences like religion (except my boss!)

I will give you a few updates throughout the day if I get some reactions. The internet has been restored at home so I hope to write more substantial posts this week besides the saga of going full-time.

10 Responses to “Going Full-time with Head Covering!”


  1. 1 MInTheGap August 22, 2007 at 7:42 am

    Hope this goes well for you today. It’s easier to get into something if you take it one step at a time– so I don’t think it’s being a chicken as much as it’s building confidence.

  2. 2 Christine August 22, 2007 at 1:08 pm

    That is terrific! I wish you lots of luck. I use to wear my head cover to and from work when I did work but would take it off in the office. I am sure it would be unaccepted and the way I dressed already made a loud point of being modest.

    I go through phases of wearing my head scarf but it gets more and more each day.

    God Bless,

    Christine

  3. 3 Amy August 22, 2007 at 5:56 pm

    Bless you sister!
    I know the challenge of going “full time” as I am trying to more and more! I tend to take it off when I am around my MIL….Long story!

    I will be praying for you

    Amy

  4. 4 Mary August 22, 2007 at 9:06 pm

    You know I’m not a head-coverer, but that won’t keep me from hoping things went well with you today, and most of all saying that I really admire you for following your convictions. This is a big step, and that you’re willing to go with it is a big sign of your humility and grace. I’m excited to hear how your day went, and what reactions you got.

    My cousin started wearing a head covering (out of the blue) and shocked a lot of people. I loved her reasons for it though…she said it provided a ‘personal check’ to her spirit that she felt she needed in public. It really made sense to me.

    Your covering sounds very pretty btw!

  5. 5 Kelli August 22, 2007 at 9:39 pm

    So far I only cover for church or bible study or if I’m going to an activity that I know there will be prayer. Good for you to cover all the time!

  6. 6 Gemaecca August 23, 2007 at 5:42 am

    Awesome! I wish you the best. I think it will be a wonderful daily reminder for you of your own personal values and aspirations, as it is for me.

    Best of luck! 🙂

  7. 7 mamajuliana August 23, 2007 at 6:35 am

    I pray that all went well for you yesterday! Let us know how you fared…You will be blessed! I’ll be praying for you when your boss returns from vacation!

  8. 8 cbrunette August 23, 2007 at 7:32 am

    Thanks for the encouragement everyone! 😀 The day went wonderfully.

    ~Anna

  9. 9 Pamela August 27, 2008 at 1:48 am

    Congratulations sister! Its been a month and a half for me sicne i started covering full time.. and yes it is a big step! Especially since i was studyign overseas then came back to Australia.. like Mary’s cousin it was ‘out of the blue’! Covering full-time can be hard for some christians to accept as it only talks about covering suring prayer/prophecy! It isn’t always easy.. it is a big step and yes you do get negative reactions (often from those you leqast expect!) At the same time sometimes i feel so joyful, blessed to be covered and often get support even from aetheists (!) who respect and admire that I followed my convictions! best of luck,
    much Grace and Peace to everyone here,
    Pamela


  1. 1 One Year Headcovering Anniversary « Veiled Glory Trackback on August 18, 2008 at 12:17 pm

Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,517 hits

