One Cockroach

Nearly every single morning, I am the first lady to use the restroom on the second floor of the library. This leaves me the unenviable task of turning on the light before I go inside. I flip the switch and prepare myself for what might dart out in front of me: a lone large cockroach. Every morning, one large cockroach is fleeing from the light (and my shoe!)

Why just one? And why do I need to squish it? The Almighty must be giving me some sort of spiritual lesson from the cockroach. Maybe it represents the devil’s activities in my life. I am grateful there are not a swarm of la cucurachas to dance upon or run away from! Each day I have the responsibility to symbolically crunch sin.

You are all creeped out now, I am sure. You should see all the crickets running around!! 😉

6 Responses to “One Cockroach”


  1. 1 Dawn August 21, 2007 at 8:13 am

    Ewww….get the traps! 🙂

  2. 2 Gemaecca August 21, 2007 at 3:44 pm

    Or it could just mean that the powers-that-be need to call Orkin. 😉

  3. 3 Christine August 22, 2007 at 1:10 pm

    ow my! That is not something I’d want to wake up to every morning!

  4. 4 Cathy August 22, 2007 at 1:12 pm

    “Or it could just mean that the powers-that-be need to call Orkin.”

    Right after they fix the a/c!

    Seriously, did they fix it?

  5. 5 cbrunette August 22, 2007 at 1:42 pm

    The A/C, as far as I can tell, has been fixed. A huge crane lifted it up into place on Monday morning!

    No such luck with bug-busting. You should have seen and smelled the buckets of dead crickets the guys shoveled out of the elevator shaft! It still stinks in there. I take the steps.

    ~Anna

  6. 6 Cara Michele August 22, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    I was sitting on my bed reading the other night and I saw something crawl across the floor, so I leaned down to look at it. It was just a cricket, so I said “hello” and then left it alone. But I thought to myself, “Why are people freaked out by spiders and cockroaches, but crickets are no big deal?” So, hmmm… just thought I’d share. 😉

    Love & peace,
    CM


Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 415,755 hits

