The Monstrous Regiment of Women

A new film due out soon! The clip and film have adult themes about abortion and other subjects. Please watch if you are over 18. You may visit the website to add your name to the release alert list.

8 Responses to “The Monstrous Regiment of Women”


  1. 1 Gemaecca August 16, 2007 at 2:40 pm

    Um… the stuff about feminism is absolutely absurd. You don’t actually believe that tripe, do you?

    I am a feminist. I am an atheist. I am a stay-at-home mother. I knit, spin, dye fiber, and do other various crafty stuff. I wear modest clothing. I have never had an abortion.

    Feminism is the notion that women are people with the right to choose their own lives. To call it anything else, like these people do, is either ignorant or a lie. It is an insult to my intelligence, and to yours as well, Anna.

    You too are a feminist, you know. You’ve chosen your own path in life — no man has chosen it for you. That makes you a feminist whether you like it or not.

  2. 2 Gemaecca August 16, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    I should also say that equating feminism with the radical “feminists” is like equating Christianity to the KKK. They both claim to be something that they’re really not.

  3. 3 cbrunette August 16, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    I believe there are over-generalizations on both sides. I am probably more a feminist according to their (in the video) definition. Call me an “old-fashioned” feminist, like pre-1920’s feminist. I like to be respected for my mind, talents, and abilities. I am blessed and thankful for the choices I have in regards to education and civil participation.

    My choices, however, to a certain extent, must be made within a supporting context, like a husband who will support my choice to stay at home with children. Many women would love to have that life but are not able or do not recognize the surrounding lifestyle (and sacrifices)that may come with it. My point is that choices are not made in a vacuum.

    At the same time, I think it is good to stand up for the choices that you have made to be with your family as also equally valid. Many voices in the “radical camp” drown out more mainstream folks like you and I.

    ~Anna

  4. 4 Gemaecca August 16, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    Hey, I apologize if I sounded overly feisty here. Had some bad news recently and I don’t think I’m handling it very well. I’m sorry if I insulted or offended you at all — that wasn’t my intent.

  5. 5 Amy August 17, 2007 at 4:20 am

    I look forward to finding out more about this film, Mrs Chancey is someone I have read and admired for sometime it will be great to see her talk in person.

    Amy

  6. 6 Judy August 17, 2007 at 10:49 am

    I, too, am looking forward to seeing and sharing this film. I think the message is bold and true. I despise the term feminism as a way for politicians to manipulate us and always have. I’m a stay-at-home grandma of 4. I love to cook and sew and wear modest clothes and cover my long hair.

    Ah, but a little context: I remember being a girl in the ’70’s when the ERA was introduced. All the other girls ooohed and aaaaahed and said “How wonderful, now we’ll have rights.” I had the strongest feelings of “I don’t need it. I can do exactly what I want to without it.” I remember joining the military in the early ’80’s when girls from small Oklahoma towns didn’t do that. I’ve had a professional nursing career. I sawed and hammered side by side with my husband when we built our home on 45 raw acres, just the two of us. I “survived” and thrived for over a year with no electricity when many men would be whining about the inconvenience. I can drive pretty much anything with 4 wheels. I can go out this minute, kill a hog, clean it and have pork chops ready for supper, all by myself. I can defend myself against evil men that may show up at my door equally well. Am I a feminist, God I hope not.

    I am a daughter of the King, totally dependent on Him. He has given me many examples of strong, wise, kind and capable women in His word. He has blessed me with a bit of that same strength and wisdom. I don’t need a movement or a politician or a magazine editor to validate me and Lord willing I will be able to pass the same mindset down to my daughter and granddaughters.

    I don’t mean to sound argumentative or contentious, and am in no way attacking anyone. I just feel strongly about this subject.

  7. 7 cbrunette August 17, 2007 at 11:23 am

    Judy,

    You are a true Proverbs 31 woman and should be proud of all that you’ve been able to do with God’s abundance. Don’t let any academic feminist tell you otherwise!

    Thank you so much for sharing!

    ~Anna

  8. 8 Judy August 17, 2007 at 1:42 pm

    Oh no, I’ve got a ways to go. Hopefully I’ll live long enough to get there. LOL But thank you. đŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,737 hits

