Opposites Attract

My husband and I went out after dinner to Hobby Lobby last night to look for some rolled poster paper. (I use it to trace and alter sewing patterns.) As we were pulling out of the parking lot, after successfully purchasing the paper, I noticed a lady and gentleman entering a western wear shop next door. I stared at the lady. She was wearing a long dress, which could have been worn alone as a “summery” dress with spaghetti straps. She choose to put on a close-fitting t-shirt underneath, making the whole ensemble much more modest and pretty. I stared unabashedly.

I realized that my public behavior has changed when seeing women in modest/immodest clothing. When a woman is showing cleavage/legs/any combination of things, I avert my eyes altogether or try hard to focus on her face. When a woman is obviously wearing more clothing on purpose, I watch her because her actions are decidedly counter-cultural. I want to hear what she has to say.

Now, the theory behind “expressing yourself” by showing off your body is that you will attract attention. You will feel more “confident” as people look at your…parts. The theory is false and backfires horribly. People (men and women!) will judge you on the quality or size of your parts instead of the quality of your personality. I will not look at your body to spare you the embarrassment or myself from unfairly judging you. Christian men who try to keep themselves pure in mind keep their eyes off. I think Christian women should do the same.

Sin acts like an oppositional force. It takes what was good and twists it. Humans need to interact, to receive praise and attention from each other. We now use our bodies instead of our souls and minds as the point of attraction. What is good an long-lasting (purity and sobriety) are swapped for the cheap, short-term and often unattainable (youthful beauty.) Look at what the world does and do the opposite. You will gain the love and affirmation that endures from God and man.

Naked women are a dime a dozen in our culture. Modest women attract attention for all the right reasons.

1 Response to “Opposites Attract”


  1. 1 MInTheGap August 16, 2007 at 11:19 am

    What an insightful post, Anna. I think this is definitely the right way to react to people wanting attention directed at their “parts.” It’s hard, but if enough people were to not look or feel embarrassed because of their lack of clothes maybe they’d get the hint.


Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,238 hits

