Home Economics Making a Come Back?

You can earn a Humanities degree and learn how to cook and sew your own dresses at the same time! Southwestern Baptist Seminary is offering a concentration in “homemaking studies” along with a rigorous Bachelor of Arts program at their Ft. Worth campus. You can read an article about it here. [Bonnet Tip: Cara Michele]

Only female students are allowed to take the sewing and nutrition (cooking) classes. Brava! Brava! What I would like to know is, do the women flock to these courses? Do they have to turn away students? I’m betting they do. Young women feel a strong lack of home management skills as evidenced through all the internet sites like Fly Lady and others.

Would you take a homemaking concentration in college? Is it time to bring back Home Economics as a viable higher education plan?

7 Responses to “Home Economics Making a Come Back?”


  1. 1 Gemaecca August 13, 2007 at 12:15 pm

    Why can’t men take the courses? I don’t understand their excuse for it. Of course there are things we don’t discuss across gender lines, but those things are, in my experience, not things I would discuss in a classroom or public setting anyway.

  2. 2 Judy August 13, 2007 at 12:19 pm

    How wonderful. I mourned when when degrees in home economics morphed into consumer studies or some such blah blah. Why would anyone begrudge a woman who recognizes homekeeping and the care of her family as her primary and God-given calling the opportunity to pursue higher education in her chosen vocation? Hindsight is 20/20, but if I were 18 again I’d enroll in a heartbeat.

  3. 3 Cathy August 13, 2007 at 2:24 pm

    I think that’s nice it that the classes are offered, but that men should be able to take them too. I probably wouldn’t take the classes except as an elective…can’t see it as a concentration with the fields I’m interested in and majored in, but it could come in handy for most who end up staying home.

  4. 4 Dawn August 14, 2007 at 3:56 am

    Ooooo neat! I have heard of this not too long ago but didn’t know where the link was. Hmmm I may have to check that out when we get to Dallas next year. I really want to learn how to sew. πŸ™‚
    My husband told me if we were to homeschool our future children, he wants me to take a more educational class like history or science (I told him I just can’t take math, I would flunk out because I am not good at it. He is though).
    So, we will see. Who knows what 2008 holds for us, I don’t try to plan too far ahead. πŸ™‚

    Bless you!

  5. 5 cbrunette August 14, 2007 at 8:16 am

    Men in the kitchen…novel thought indeed. πŸ™‚ At this particular institution, I think the men would stay clear of the classes even if they were allowed to take learn cooking or sewing.

    These “arts” are traditionally female in their eyes, so leaving them sex-segregated, by law or by choice, is the way to go. How would you feel about taking a homemaking course with a man? Would you feel as free to talk about things with him/them around?

    [Insert personal opinion here: in theory, I’m open to having men in a cake-decorating class or pattern-drafting class. They can be manly and sling icing! The awkwardness at a conservative Baptist college of having men bending gender roles would be unbearable, I think.]

    ~Anna

  6. 6 Cathy August 14, 2007 at 8:30 am

    Well, my husband definitely isn’t the chief cook around here, but he likes to help out in the kitchen, and a class teaching him basic skills might have come in useful.

    I would have no problem taking a “home ec” type class with a man…would probably be more “wierd” feeling to take health or something like that with a guy than a class about cooking or sewing.

    I guess I would NOT mean for the men to be taking this as a concentration or minor, but just as an elective to learn more useful life skills. Not everyone gets married young as I did, and cooking and mending could be useful skills for a guy “batching” it.

  7. 7 Gemaecca August 14, 2007 at 1:08 pm

    *shrugs* My husband does all the cooking and dishes around here…


Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,629 hits

