Away from the Heat!

The A/C is out at work. It has been out for the last three days. I haven’t seen the maintenance men for the last two days. The temperature is currently 86 F in my office with NO AIRFLOW. There is box fan that sounds like an old airplane but I can’t think with it on. The conditions are worse downstairs in cataloging…at least 3 or 4 degrees hotter because they have south-facing windows. Outside temperature is at 93 F and rising….

Now…this doesn’t take rocket science, folks, to say to the poor minions to just go home (special leave with pay) until the problem is fixed. Not going to happen! The only way out of here is to take my precious sick leave, which is precisely what I am doing in two minutes. Surely there must be some sort of OSHA regulations for these circumstances?

I’ll join you all later in the comfort of my well-cooled home. 🙂

5 Responses to “Away from the Heat!”


  1. 1 Christine August 9, 2007 at 1:29 pm

    There are… you should call your state labor board and find out what the limitations are.

    Christine

  2. 2 cbrunette August 9, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    Thanks, Christine…

    I have my doubts this would be effective because I work for a state entity, a university.

    ~Anna

  3. 3 cbrunette August 9, 2007 at 2:00 pm

    And…I’ve also been reprimanded about “going over people’s heads” with an OSHA complaint before. Silly me…I didn’t notify the library director first. Apparently state employees must go through their superiors to talk to the OSHA officer.

    ~Anna

  4. 4 Gemaecca August 9, 2007 at 8:54 pm

    Oh, that’s horrible. I hope you’ve cooled off by now!

  5. 5 Christine August 10, 2007 at 10:06 am

    I can’t say that I don’t understand. I work at a large university/medical center and politics are the rule of the day here as well. Still, it is always a good idea to know where the limits are and document when they are exceeded; notifying the proper authorities as a matter of course. Then if you or anyone else is injured via heatstroke, heat exhaustion etc you will be able to pull out your log book and say,
    “…on this day the temperature violated to such and such an extent and I notified so and so at this time.” to prove a pattern of negligence in matters pertaining to employee health and safety.

    I have found it effective in these situations to casually mention or let it be observed that I am keeping a log “just in case”. The ever present fear of liability will often succeed in effecting change where, sadly, the conscience will not.

    Good Luck, I’ll say a prayer for you. – Christine


Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,629 hits

