Paul Washer, A Slave

Yesterday, I spent a considerable amount of time while at work, listening to audio sermons given by Paul Washer. I discovered this dynamic preacher/missionary online a couple of months ago when I saw a video of a message he gave to a youth conference posted on Godtube.

There is really no comparison to Paul Washer I have ever come across in my 28+ years of being in the Evangelical church world. This is saying quite a bit because I’ve seen and heard some big names.

I hesitated posting about a particular preacher here or on The Conservative Brunette. There are so many different readers of my blog and I do not want to give the impression that I’m like other Christians who chase after the latest and greatest book-selling teacher to come down the road. In fact, I am quite the opposite. I’ve given up reading or listening to mainstream American Christianity for some time now. It all just seemed like a load of cotton candy or…you fill in the blank.

This man is different. I have never, ever, heard the Gospel presented like this, either in passionate delivery or even in the content. I don’t know whether to weep over this fact or celebrate that I have heard it.

Mr. Washer comes from a Southern Baptist background but is not like any baptist I’ve heard. My own theological leanings are towards Anabaptism so when his messages began to sound much like what I already believe deep down, I sat up straight. You mean…this is what Calvinism really believes about Assurance and Perseverance of the Saints? Wait a second…we have much more in common than I thought!

Before I give you some link recommendations, let me advise you on something. His sermons available online are mostly directed towards American cultural Christians, or those who have sat in church pews most of their lives but have no firm faith. He is blunt, he speaks with incredible passion, and he is completely engaging. I would recommend taking the time to give your complete attention to any of what he has to say or you will miss something vitally important.

His mission agency is Heartcry Missions. [This site is often down because the bandwidth is exceeded, keep trying!]

You may find his sermons here and here. Do a search for Paul Washer and you will come up with a long list. The two sermons I recommend starting with are: “Whats Wrong with American Christianity” and “Practical Holiness

Well, I’ve got quite a bit to think and pray over….thanks to this humble man who dares to speak the truth.

5 Responses to “Paul Washer, A Slave”


  1. 1 Gemaecca August 8, 2007 at 3:31 pm

    He’s a very good speaker, especially for someone who knows his message won’t be very well received. I really commend him for his guts going in front of a whole Baptist conference and addressing this issue. I can’t say I agree with much that he said, but I fully support him in saying it.

  2. 2 Kelli August 9, 2007 at 7:31 pm

    Wow, this was good. I’ve been personally struggling with this and I’ve been told I’m “judgemental”. I wish more people could hear this.

  3. 3 know them by their fruits November 2, 2007 at 3:50 am

    Good sermon.

    This video is also making the rounds, very disturbing implications about our “Christian” leaders.

    ā€œPaul Washer- Is American “Christianity” really Christian? ā€

    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=2977907213395711239

  4. 4 Reed Nelson November 30, 2007 at 3:48 pm

    I agree with you wholeheartedly. Finally somebody has the guts to share the Truth with a capital T. Paul Washer has sound theology and a message straight from God’s Word. Listen up. My favorite message is The Heart of the Gospel.

    Reed

  5. 5 servitius December 24, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    Paul Washer: Calvinism is Good Theology

    More at:


Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,629 hits

