Shoes, a Meme

Yesterday’s experience in pharmaceuticals left me mentally zoinked in terms of thinking up a modesty or head covering related blog post. Sigh…then I looked at my feet. Shoes! We can talk about shoes! Women love shoes!

Shoes matter in modesty. There is the trite phrase of men having been excited to see a well-turned ankle back in the day. Now they get more than an eye-full! A dainty slipper has become today’s spiked heel, open toe, laced up…err…shoe. I’m sure some of the contraptions I see hobbling around campus were once lawn aerators! My theory is that when the foot/ankle/calve became no longer exciting to see, fashionistas had to work extra hard to make people notice their gams.

A cute side story: When Jeff and I were still engaged, I was lounging on his couch, watching TV while he was in the kitchen. I had a blanket wrapped up over my legs. As I sat up and took off the blanket, my skirt flipped up to reveal my knees. I was wearing knee-high socks and bike shorts underneath my denim skirt so only my knee caps were really peaking through. Jeff had just turned around and he exclaimed, “KNEES!” I, of course, quickly flipped my skirt down. He had never seen my knees! I made sure he didn’t see them again until after our marriage. 😉

Here are some questions for you:

  • Are sandals (of all sorts, flip-flops, too) modest? If not, why?
  • If you show your toes…do you feel the need to paint them? Why?
  • Heels…Do you risk your health and safety for fashion?
  • How many pairs of shoes do you currently own?
  • How many pairs of shoes could you possibly reduce down to?
  • Does your husband complain about said number of shoes?

For your curiosity, I’ll answer those questions in my next post. You could even use these questions as a Meme! Wow…I started a meme! If you read the above questions and maintain a blog…consider yourself tagged! Ping me if you answer.

5 Responses to “Shoes, a Meme”


  1. 1 Susan July 24, 2007 at 11:49 am

    Anna,

    I put this meme up on my blog :0)

  2. 2 Cathy July 24, 2007 at 12:49 pm

    Are sandals (of all sorts, flip-flops, too) modest? If not, why? Yes, sandals are modest…feet are feet!
    If you show your toes…do you feel the need to paint them? Why? Yes, I have ugly ridged toenails.
    Heels…Do you risk your health and safety for fashion? Nope, used to in my younger days, but now my “heels” are only about 1.5 inches, max, and that’s for church. I do have really dressy sandals to wear with ball gowns on rare occasions.
    How many pairs of shoes do you currently own? Too many.
    How many pairs of shoes could you possibly reduce down to? I’d like to have 3 per season, not sure if that’s realistic. Casual sandals, dressier sandals and tennis shoes for summer…wool-lined clogs, flats that can dress up or down and tennis shoes for winter.
    Does your husband complain about said number of shoes? Uh, yeah, occasionally, but not too much. I’ve trimmed down considerably since we got married 14 years ago.

  3. 3 Kelli July 24, 2007 at 1:52 pm

    I think flip flops are modest enough. Yes I paint my toenails in the summer. I don’t usually wear flip flops as I have plantar fascitis sp? and need more support. I have two pairs of Earth shoes, one in black mary jane style and one in brown mary jane style, one pair of tan sandles that have a 1 1/2 inch heel. I own a pair of tennis shoes but rarely wear them since I’ve gone skirts only. I have saved my dressy heels but never wear them due to foot problems.

  4. 4 Amy July 24, 2007 at 6:10 pm

    Ping!!!

    Answer on my blog 🙂

  5. 5 tabletophomestead July 26, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    Boy, I don’t know what a meme or a ping is, but here are my answers.

    1) Biblical ladies wore sandals. That’s good enough for me.

    2)Not a need, but I do sometimes just for my husband.

    3)Absolutely not. I haven’t worn a high heel in years. My dressiest shoes have about a 1 1/4 inch blocky heel.

    4) 1 pair black pumps, 1 pair white Keds for going to town in summer, 1 pair brown suede slip-ons for going to town in winter, 2 pairs of sandals (one for town, one for on the farm), 3 pairs of clogs (2 for working as a nurse) and a couple of pairs of combat boots for hunting, hiking or wintertime wear. I also keep a pair of muck boots. Darn, I have too many shoes!

    5) pumps for church and funerals, 1 pair clogs for summertime farm wear, 1 pair clogs for work, 1 pair combat boots and 1 pair muck boots. (A thought provoking question.)

    6) No.


Leave a Reply

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,146 hits

