Short Sleeved Cape Dress

This is the first cape dress I made with the Country Cape Dress pattern from Candle on the Hill. Jeff took the photo last Saturday before we went shopping(see my shopping notebook?). Just imagine the looks I received at Wal-Mart! 😉 I got a little adventuresome and made short sleeves with a cuff. The cuff turned out a little too wide for my preference. I did not make an elastic waist. It seemed a little bit much for me to tackle. Besides, I like having a looser waist. The dress I am hemming at the moment (by hand) I cut using the elastic waist lines on both bodice and cape but did not add the elastic. I also did not sew the waist dart. It’s nice and roomy! I’ll put up photos of that dress when I get the buttons on it.

Jeff is off on a ministry trip this weekend so I am alone for most of the time, except church. I will get plenty of cleaning and organizing done. I also rented a documentary, “Queen Victoria’s Empire” that will keep me occupied while I sew or knit. Have a blessed weekend!

5 Responses to “Short Sleeved Cape Dress”


  1. 1 Kim July 21, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    Wow, nicely done!!

  2. 2 Erin July 21, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    You look lovely, sister! May God continue to bless and lead you!

  3. 3 Dawn July 22, 2007 at 3:59 am

    Awesome!!!! I wish I were still in Lawton..we could look weird together! 🙂 Oooooo WalMart….I miss that place…even if I never did buy anything while there…just walking around and people watching was fun.

    That is a pretty dress. I wish I knew how to sew. 😦

    I told my husband that once we get settled in Dallas next year, that I was going to take a drive up to Lawton and stay for a few days so I can see my friends. It’s only about a 2 – 2.5 hour drive. We’ll have to meet up! 🙂

  4. 4 Kelli July 22, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    Nice job sewing. I had a custom made cape dress pattern made from Gehman’s Country Fabrics, I have the top and skirt made but I have to put them together. Since I’m a very plus size lady the elastic is usually bothersome to me. I’ll have to try it without the elastic. My pattern has a zipper in the back, I’d like the puttons in the front like you have them. Ok, today (Sunday) was my first day wearing a covering at church. No one made any comments, however half of the congregation was not there (summer vacations?). I did overhear a comment made by an elderly lady at the retirement community that our church goes to 1x month for a vesper service. I overheard her saying she remembers she used to wear a cover on her head. I probably wont wear my cover to work tomorrow but will for our bible study tomorrow night. I’m easing into the covering and will see how often I’ll put it on. So far I’ll wear it when I know I’ll be in a church or bible study or prayer meeting. My covering kept slipping but thanks to your readers advice I bought some clip type barrettes and my covering stays on. In fact I really like it so much I totally forgot I had it on. My coverings came from Garlands of Grace and I think I’m going to order more in different colors.

  5. 5 Gemaecca August 7, 2007 at 7:05 am

    Nice sewing job! I wish I had learned to sew back when I wasn’t a mom. Now that I’ve got my little drooly-bug, I don’t have any spare time to learn… (*insert pouty-face here*)


Leave a Reply

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,701 hits

