Culottes

Culottes. My childhood friend-from-across-the-street, Allison, was apart of a dresses-only family. She wore culottes in the summertime and was as tomboy as you could get. She was forever climbing trees or up on the roof! At the time, I thought they were a bit funny looking. I wore shorts and other contemporary girl outfits of the 1980’s.  I thought, well, if you were going to wear a skirt, then wear a skirt and if you were going to be doing tomboy things, dress like a boy!

Several retailers like My Culottes.com have created some great examples of ‘active wear’. I haven’t tried the latest trends in culotte but I’m willing to give them a try on two conditions:

  • They cover my knees most of the time.
  • No pantyline visible through the fabric.

My sister, who recently graduated from and is joining the staff of a conservative Baptist girls’ highschool, wears polyester culottes to do P.E. activities. They have a talented seamstress who designed them along with their jumper-uniforms.

So, what do you all think, are culottes a viable alternative to skirts? Should only girls wear them or women, too?

5 Responses to “Culottes”


  1. 1 Cathy July 20, 2007 at 7:13 am

    Culottes…the word makes me shudder, well almost! I was like your neighbor in the skirts-only family and had to wear these for PE at my ultra-conservative school as well. Now they’re sort of “in”, but I can’t even bring myself to wear the supposedly “cute” versions.

    As far as modestly goes, I can’t see how anyone could complain about these unless they were ultra-tight at the top or something. But I think you had it right; wear a skirt for “normal” activities if so inclined, and if you’re going to ride a horse, dig in the mud or whatever, a pair of jeans might be best.

    And I don’t think we should apply a double standard, if they’re not modest for woman than girls shouldn’t be wearing them either, although as I said, I think they’re perfectly modest, just unattractive.

  2. 2 Susan July 20, 2007 at 8:28 am

    I don’t have a problem with culottes, as long as they are modest (I’ve seen some of the “new” ones out and they’re just pants with wide legs, don’t look skirtish at all).

    I started making skirts with built in shorts for my nieces. This keeps them just as modest looking, while still letting them be kids and play. They ride horses in them and play all over their farm. Their Mom won’t let them wear culottes at all, so this works well for them.

  3. 3 Miki July 20, 2007 at 10:09 am

    Hi Anna!
    I love your blog and visit daily!
    I just have a question for you about your Country Cape Dress from Candle on the Hill. I was wondering if you used the elastic waistband in the pink one that you had pictured and I wondered how you liked the fit. I just purchased this same pattern and it came in the mail yesterday. I’m excited to give it a try but am also a little nervous about it not fitting after I get it all done. Been there done that before. It’s very disappointing! I have never made a cape dress before let alone wear one. This will be a new experience for me.
    Blessings,
    Miki

  4. 4 cbrunette July 20, 2007 at 10:32 am

    Hello Miki!

    Glad to have you along!
    Those are some great questions regarding the Country Cape Dress pattern. I was planning on posting another photo of me wearing a different dress made from the pattern, with some modifications. Stay tuned and I’ll answer your questions this weekend. 🙂

    ~Anna

  5. 5 Miki July 20, 2007 at 12:16 pm

    I’ll be here!
    Blessings,
    Miki


Leave a Reply

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,045 hits

