You Church Goer!

Last night, in Economics class, I had another round with a male student who sits next to me. We had already had some exchanges about my clothing preferences. As I sat down from writing some answers to questions on an overhead, he said,  “You Church Goer!” in a derogatory way. I knew he was trying to get a rise out of me.

I replied, “Well, what’s wrong with going to church?” I looked him straight in the eye.

“You should study other religions. Maybe that will expand your mind to other possibilities.”

“I did study other religions and found I was much better off where I was in the first place.”

“Being a Wiccan?” (I had no idea where that came from…)

“Wiccans don’t go to a ‘Church’.”

That ended our little sortie for the evening. He likes to ask me when I come in to class if I brought any “kool-aid” to drink. Nope, just filtered water, thank you. 😉

4 Responses to “You Church Goer!”


  1. 1 MInTheGap July 19, 2007 at 8:04 am

    The only reason that I would study other religions is to affirm my faith and be able to defend myself against them– and even that’s not necessary.

    I think you did well in your responses– especially the kool-aid!

  2. 2 Dawn July 19, 2007 at 8:36 am

    I probably would have told him “I’m not religious”, “I’m a Christian”. That would probably drive him up the wall. There is a difference between having a ‘religion’ and being a born again Christian fully serving God.

    I haven’t gotten into studying too much with other ‘religions’, but it wouldn’t hurt as MInTheGap said so I can defend myself against them.
    I do know if someone asked me why I don’t follow another ‘religion’ I will certainly tell them “because in the Bible, Jesus said He is the way, the truth and the life, not Buddah, not Mary, not Allah, not a goddess, but Jesus”. Oh I am sure that would ruffle some feathers…LOL.

    You had a good response though.

    I like Kool-Aid…why is it always mixed in with being in a cult??? I mean, I know the story behind it, but still…Kool-Aid rules!!! 🙂

  3. 3 Judy July 19, 2007 at 10:34 am

    I’d have just smiled and said, “Yes.” I wouldn’t engage him. Just “heap the burning coals” of kindness. It will drive him nuts. Oh, and don’t forget to pray for him. You can’t change his mind or heart but God can.

  4. 4 Gemaecca August 7, 2007 at 12:45 pm

    Sounds like he’s just one of those annoying types who likes to get your goat. (They come from all religions and walks of life, sadly.)

    I have a rule about people like that — don’t let ’em know where your goat is. 😉


Leave a Reply

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,233 hits

