The Modesty Instinct

Or, “Why I Think Christa Taylor is not (Totally) Modest.”

On a recent post, I asked whether you thought the online retailer, Christa Taylor, was modest or not and why. My opinion was not as clear as I think it should have been. I believe Kelli wondered why I thought CT was not completely modest.

It has something to do with conscience or even an instinct, which is a reaction based almost on genetic or conditioned response. Over the years, very gradually, I’ve become sensitized to modesty as a virtue in my practice and the way I view the world. Let’s keep in mind that modesty is not only putting on clothing but an inward attitude, cultivated through the Holy Spirit.

Ten years ago, I was wearing very short shorts in the Arizona heat. Nothing too out of place in that climate or culture. Still, I would not wear sleeveless shirts or tank tops. My heart just wouldn’t let me go there. Looking back, I can see how I slowly began to see how my behavior and dress affected others (good or bad) and modified accordingly.

Modesty and “shame-facedness” are used in the same KJV sentence (1 Timothy 2) because they go together. If we lose the ability to be shocked at sin (shame-facedness) then we can flaunt our bodies without thinking of it.

Some of you, dear ladies, are trying to figure out where the modest line is where God has you. I ask you to study Romans 14 where Paul asks brethren to be considerate of each other when it comes to eating meat offered to idols. The same argument could hold when it comes to choosing clothing. There may not be anything necessarily wrong with a particular dress in your eyes but if you are allowed the glimpse of it through another person’s eyes, you could see what very different message it conveys (probably not the one you intended.)

And now I come to the issue of Christa Taylor. She does offer some nice skirts and a couple of blouses that I perhaps would wear. The problem I have with her entire line is that there is a mixed message. One skirt may come below the knees and is not see-through but the next one may be white and short. One dress may go from neck to knees but the next is v-necked and slitted. There doesn’t seem to be a clear standard or trend, as you can see at Hannah Lise, for example.

The other underlying issue I have with Christa Taylor is that the company still propounds the same message as all other clothing companies: “Look at me, I’m pretty because of my clothing!” This is not the modesty instinct. The message of Christ is that you have beauty because of your Creator’s work in your life. He designed you, He gave you the opportunity to shine for Him. Why would you want to rob Him of His glory? This is why I strive for modesty, dear readers. I want my outward appearance to reflect the inward work of God.

6 Responses to “The Modesty Instinct”


  1. 1 Dawn July 9, 2007 at 7:27 am

    Very good! My thoughts exactly…I just didn’t know how to put them into words in your last posting about CT.

    My whole point as a Christian is to not look fashionable…but presentable for Christ. I don’t want to look like the rest of the world.

    The more I get away from the worlds views and beliefs the more I get focused on God and His Word.

    I dont want everyone too look like me, that would be boring. But we must ask ourselves, who are we dressing for? Do we want everyone at church to see our newest top or bottom? Are you wearing it to bring glory and honor to God or yourself?

    We all deal with vanity, even me, in my cape dress and headcovering…LOL. How I can get vanity out of that…don’t ask. 🙂

    There are other modest clothing websites that don’t scream “look at me, we’re ‘modest'” and have much more presentable stuff to offer.

  2. 2 Amy July 9, 2007 at 6:13 pm

    Couldn’t agree more!!! 🙂

  3. 3 Regina July 9, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    I definitely didn’t like CT clothing. I don’t wear today’s fashionable clothes. I too wear cape dresses and jumpers plus my headcovering. The vanity bug will sometimes creep in when I see a cape dress that is slightly different from mine and I’ll think “I want a dress like that!” Bad aren’t I?

  4. 4 Kelli July 9, 2007 at 11:32 pm

    Thanks for the explanation! I love this site, thanks so much ladies for your input. I just started wearing skirts fulltime a year ago. I’m a very plus size lady and wearing pants and jeans just looked awful. I feel more feminine in my skirts. I tried to buy tops at Lane Bryant but that store is too trendy and tops are too low cut. I can buy some of the t shirts that aren’t so low cut there. I have a hard time finding nice clothes in my size, but I can make my own skirts. I have made a few cape dresses but they are long sleeve & too warm to wear now. I’m in the process of making a short sleeve cape dress but haven’t had time to sew the top the bottom yet. Ok, here is another question. For those of you who have teenage girls. I’m new to modest dressing and I’m really getting flack from my 17 and 15 year old. I still let them wear jeans and they don’t wear the low cut ones, we can find the hirer cut at Wal-Mart. Anyway, I personally don’t have a problem with them wearing jeans, however I wish they would wear skirts more. I do INSIST that they wear dresses or skirts to church. We’re battleing it out on the dresses. My rule is that they need to have their shoulders covered in church, thus the cute sun dress one of my daughters has I wont let wear to church yet because we need to find a wrap or shawl or shrug so she’s more covered. For those of you who have teen girls and switched from less modest dress to more modest dress, did you have these battles too?

  5. 5 cbrunette July 10, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    Kelli,

    You’ve brought up some good post ideas (again!) about “Enforcing” a modesty standard in your family. I’ll pick this up in a couple of days!

    ~Anna

  6. 6 Amy October 30, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    I totally agree!


Leave a Reply

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 415,845 hits

