Jewelry: A Spectrum

If you haven’t guess already, my thoughts and practices regarding jewelry are similar to cosmetics: less is better. Note, however, I said “less” not none. I’ve been mulling over my autobiography of jewelry and came up with some patterns:

  • I wear jewelry I have picked out, rarely those trinkets others have purchased or given to me. I chose the design of my engagement ring (more on that later) and wedding band. My parents like to buy me things when they travel so I try to wear it occassionally. Maybe I have a jewelry chip hardwired in my head as to exactly what I like. That is probably why I wear very little.
  • I prefer gold over silver because it matches my skin tone. [What of 1 Timothy 2:9, you are wondering. That is a whole other post but let’s just say…I like balance.]
  • I do wear a wedding band and engagement ring(with diamonds). Jeff insisted he wanted to give me a ring. So what’s a girl to do? Go pick it out! 🙂 Whenever I have the ring cleaned, I’ll gaze at the sparkling stones and sigh. There is a man who loves me very, very much!
  • When I am covered I do not wear earrings. The gypsy look is not my style.
  • I have to remind myself to put in earrings in the mornings. I forget half of the time! My parents actually wanted me to get my ears pierced when I was 12. The first job was poorly done and I had to let them heal over. They encouraged me again at 16 and that time they took. I choose small stone or small (tiny) gold hoop earrings.
  • If all my jewelry was taken tomorrow, the only things I would mourn would be the pearl necklace my late grandmother gave me which I wore on my wedding day and my rings.

To sum up: I like “pretties” but they do not own me. 🙂

3 Responses to “Jewelry: A Spectrum”


  1. 1 Cathy July 6, 2007 at 4:17 pm

    I really do like jewelry, but have a hard time remembering to put it on these days…sort of like makeup! I feel like I’m doing good to get out the door with my face washed and hair brushed, let alone made up and bejeweled! In the past 2 days I’ve accidentally left home in my flip flops TWICE!

    I always wear my wedding and engagement rings (DH had them put together for me as an anniversary gift one year so it’s one piece now). Other than that, I mainly wear earrings, which I prefer moderate-sized but a little dangly. Occasionally, for church or a ball or other special occasion, I’ll wear a necklace and/or bracelet along with earrings.

  2. 2 Amy July 6, 2007 at 7:09 pm

    I thought I would add what I wear too the list too!! Now this is kinda funny cause 18mths ago I was managing a JEWELLERY store!!
    Ohhh how the LORD works!
    Back then I cant even list what I would wear!!

    Now days it is simple studs in my ears
    and a cross necklace (my DH just brought me a new one with sawarski crystals ohhh I love shinies!!)
    and of course my engagement and wedding band that my husband picked with all diamonds.
    finally on my right ring finger I have my grandmothers engagment ring, this would be the thing I would mourn the most!! (Asides from my rings of course)

  3. 3 Dawn July 7, 2007 at 2:53 am

    I’m a ‘plain Jane’. No jewelry for this gal 🙂 I do have a wedding band (just a cheap silver one from WalMart for $10) but don’t wear it. Just personal conviction I guess. Plus when I wear it, it makes me feel weird.

    My hubby is funny, he thinks if I don’t wear it I will get hit on…LOL. I have to keep reminding him…what man would want an overweight woman in a cape dress and headcovering when they can have the size 2 girl, with barely no clothes on???? 🙂


Leave a Reply

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,517 hits

